Bingo and other knitting games

Forgot to mention that while waiting for our plane yesterday, my collegues were bored out of their gourds. I of course was not. I was knitting the Rustic Scarf and then “invented” a game I’ll call Bingo even though its not really Bingo. Kind of like Slug Bug or more like I Spy but I like the word Bingo better.

Here’s how to play and drive your non-knitting colleagues, family and friends nuts. First go someplace where you have to waste a lot of time in a big crowd. Airports, concerts, movie lines, mall while waiting for your teen ager to come back and ask for your charge card. Then everytime you see someone wearing a hand knit yell Bingo! and give yourself a point. If you can also identify the pattern give yourself another point. When your flight leaves or your movies starts, tally up your score. If you were forced to play alone see if you scored a personal best!

At Sea-Tac airport yesterday I would have scored a 7 (does not include my handknit socks I was wearing). 2 points each for spotting and identifying 2 Ribby Cardi’s, 2 points for 1 Tangled Yoke Cardigan and 1 point for a woman wearing and explaining to the man next to her that she knitted a 13 foot chain of yarn links and then felted them to make the 7 foot chain link scarf. Then she had to explain to him how to felt. He was able to escape most of the explanation by being the next called to the TSA ID check.

Or how about the Knitting Density game? Go for a personal best on mass transit. Bus holds 50 people and 2 are knitting? That’s a 4. Plane holds 75 and there are 5 knitters? That’s a 6. It has to be some sort of non personal vehicle otherwise Blogless Kim would win. (and I’m not telling how).

The Ruby Roving turned out to be 205 yards in 4.2 oz. so I am thinking after thwacking and drying it will probably be a worsted weight. It’s doing its overnight Euculan soak. I have to finish this big 16 oz bottle of lavender before I’ll allow myself to purchase the new grapefruit Euculan. I love grapefruit scent!

The Men’s Rustic Scarf is done too and will go for it’s preblock soak tomorrow.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Feb 22, 2008 @ 08:24:16

    I’m strangely confused after reading all those rules.

    Reply

  2. kmkat
    Feb 24, 2008 @ 13:03:44

    I understand the scoring for the second game! But I’m a math nerd 😉 I look forward to playing the first game next time I’m in the right situation.

    Reply

  3. Miss T
    Feb 26, 2008 @ 08:12:28

    LOL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

