Not bad!

If you rewind Kitkatknit back one year you’ll see that a year ago was pretty bad birthday. It’s the day that I was diagnosed with shingles after feeling pretty darn crappy for a few days before. And then it got worse! Seems like a lot of us knit bloggers with mid-Feb birthdays had some rough ones. Well this year it was back up to it’s usual good self. It started out with our family tradition of birthday in bed. You must open your cards and presents there. Knitting Hubby gave me two beautiful zipper pulls for my jackets. One is a silver and turq pendant by by Laura LewAllen of LewAllen and LewAllen Jewelry. I have a couple of her Ascent bracelets. They are my favorite! Some samples here:
ascent.jpg
The other is a glass piece Knitting Hubby also found in Santa Fe. He also put together a selection of antique glass bottles filled with beads. very pretty, it will go into our kitchen window sill.

Flew to Seattle and I noticed that a woman in my row but the other window seat was knitting. We ended up taking thru the whole end of the flight. She is a fellow spinner and knitter, and is from Delta Junction Alaska. So if you are reading this – HI TAMMIE!

I traveled with two other women from my office and I volunteered to be the driver. We had to walk about 3 miles to our rental car. That got us extra hungry so we picked up Graham on the way to dinner instead of going to our hotel first. The four of us went to our family favorite little secret restaurant – been going there 20 years and this was the first time Graham got to have a glass of wine with his dinner there. I of course being the driver didn’t have wine. I waited till we got to our hotel and after checking in got my self (in Mayor of Cabin Cove tradition) a big ol’ Bloody Mary!
hbtome1.jpg

And what’s that next to the birthday Bloody Mary with one of those required little pirate swords? Why it’s an Ashford Flick Card from Graham. I tell you, that boy knows how to make his Momma smile on her birthday!

Before I forget to show you, here’s the weekend progress. The plied Ruby Roving so far.

ruby-roving.jpg

And my available yarn colors for a Men’s Rustic Scarf I started today at the airport. I am using the bottom three colorways.

rustic-gb.jpg

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dropstitchknitter
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 04:49:34

    Sounds like a wonderful birthday – Happy Birthday!

    Reply

  2. Miss T
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 07:19:29

    Happy Birthday!!

    Reply

  3. Rem
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 11:14:52

    Hello, if you are destashing some Yorkshire Tweed, I might be interested in purchasing a skein or two.
    Thanks

    Reply

  4. Jennifer
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 11:50:02

    Happy Birthday! Sounds like you had a good one. I love those Ascent bracelets. Gorgeous.

    Reply

  5. Dave Daniels
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 13:28:36

    Wow, those bracelets are almost as enticing as the BloodyM.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, too.

    Reply

  6. Chris
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 17:28:51

    Happy belated birthday! I’m glad it was a good one this year!

    Reply

  7. Rae
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 19:43:12

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Reply

  8. kt
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 22:04:08

    Happy Birthday!

    Can I ask for the family secret restaurant? We’re still trying to get our bearings here in the Emerald City, and have not yet found great food.

    If it must remain uknown, I understand. ;>)

    Reply

  9. heideho
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 23:11:52

    You had a birthday? Well HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU! Even belated this sounds like it warrants a celebration. It sounds like you had a fantastic trip to Seattle. Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

