Shades of grey

Not the bad Monkees song, but what winter is like here in my zipcode. Usually shades of grey, blue grey water, some brown earth and grey-ish skies. Actually we’ve been having bluer skies this winter than usual. (hope I just didn’t jinks the next two months).
rattlesnake1.jpg

Got in some dedicated knit time last night while watching a couple of movies. Of course not without mistakes. I was about 1.5″ past an extra row in my double moss. Saved it for a visit with Judie at the LYS. While she was fixing tons of mistakes on some new sock knitters work, I tinked back to my last correct row. Crowded table today, almost everyone from the Friday Night Knit Night roster showed up at one time or another plus another dozen. For a while we even ran out of chair space. annie-2.jpg

We’ve been calling this the bass pan but I found out tonight it’s a perch cornbread pan. (the only basses I know are musical instruments) I’m in the process of reseasoning it for Blogless Kim. She hadn’t used it in a while and it had turned into a rusty pan. I volunteered to clean it up and bring it back to useable condition. Here is what it is supposed to look like.

perch-pan.jpg

And here is how it came out. The proof will be in the baking.

perch-pan-2.jpg

Oh and it’s not grey where Knitting Hubby is this week.
santa-fe-grey.jpg

Time for knitting!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bea
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 04:45:16

    Love the mountain photo! So sorry about your having to tink back. The moss stitch is looking fluffy and comfy though.

    Reply

  2. Heide
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 08:02:52

    Frogging always sucks. Good job on the pan, cast iron is the best for cooking. Is that an eagle in the first picture?

    Reply

  3. Chris
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 08:25:07

    You couldn’t go with him to Sante Fe?! Alas! I love Sante Fe and Taos…

    Reply

  4. Blogless Kim
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 09:26:08

    WOW! The perch! pan looks great. You are not only fixing the pan but found out what kind of critter that is. Thanks so much for your help. Is that an eagle in the photo? If so that would explain why the other birds were so nervous Sunday morning. Thanks again, Kim

    Reply

  5. Cathy-Cate
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 11:34:53

    Wonderful photo! I love the bird, and the way the mountain restates a variation of the swirls of the clouds.

    I think we switched skies with you this winter. I’ve rarely seen so many cloudy days. But we didn’t get your temperatures with the clouds, unfortunately.

    Oh, you know another kind of bass too — the manly kind, right?
    😉

    I guess I have caught perch and sunnies in my young days but would have had no idea about the pan species (just made an inadvertent pun — panfish!), though it’s cool. What a nice person you are for re-seasoning it; that’s a gift. My husband was just revelling in his perfectly seasoned pan last night.

    Reply

  6. Miss T
    Feb 12, 2008 @ 09:24:51

    I love that pan!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

