The trouble with tribbles

Tribbles circa Stardate 4525.6 (1967) ***
tribbles.jpg

Tribbles circa 2008, taking over the entrance to my office building (not to mention most of the parking lots).
tumbletribbles.jpg

We are in day 4 now of bad winds and I am about sick of it. Gusts up to 60 mph have started tearing large sections of people roof shingles off their homes. I’m tired of the constant roar. The wind right now as I write is 31 mph and it’s kind of quiet in comparison. I’d like the wind to die down so I can Vespa over to our caucus tomorrow afternoon rather than drive and try to find a parking space. We are completely cut off from the west side of the state, all the passes to the west are closed again. Good thing I’m flying to Seattle for 3 days of business in a couple Mondays rather than driving.
coldwind.jpg

I thought about walking thru the park today but it was too windy. For once I had my camera with me AND one of the local bald eagles was in his tree looking for lunch. Usually he’s there if I don’t have my camera, and not there if I do.
eagle.jpg

Want to hear a small world story? I was cruising Ravelry last week and checked to see who else lives in the same town. Just one other person, Tracy of Tracy’s Pencil Circles. Tonight a she stopped by Friday Night Knit Night and I thought recognized her from her blog picture and asked if she was Tracy – sure enough it was! So she joined us for the evening and she fit right in to our crazy crowd. Tracy is knitter (socks, Norwegian sweaters etc), spinner (Lendrum DT too), obviously a Monty Python fan, and a fellow artist. Check out her work on her blog. I was an illustrator on the Hanford site from about 1979 – 1990 and she was one from 1991 (I think that was the year) until recently. So we are chit chatting along and I asked what neighborhood she lived in. Tracy said King View Heights. Me too. And since we are a tiny neighborhood consisting of only 3 long blocks, capped on each end with a road, I said ha ha we’re probably neighbors and don’t even know it, what street? Wouldn’t you know it. Same street. Tracy lives on one corner and I live on the opposite corner of our long block. oops. So we had a good laugh!

Forgot to show you Knitting Hubby celebrating Mardi Gras with Ruby and Rufus. Note that only one of the three were happy about it. (you get to see that wonderful fleece covering the couch again, lucky you)
mardigras.jpg
~~~~~~~~~~
***
Please note: I am not a Trekkie, have never been a Trekkie, will never be a Trekkie and have never seen more than maybe 2.5 entire Star Trek shows total. I just happen to know that the captain started the show with saying something about Captain’s Log Stardate whatever. One time I was forced to go see William Shanter speak but that is a story for another time.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jessie
    Feb 09, 2008 @ 06:39:50

    Love the bald eagle!

    The Tribble comparison is hysterical. Right now we’re in the throes of The Shining, right before Jack Nicholson loses it.

    Reply

  2. Cathy-Cate
    Feb 09, 2008 @ 06:52:24

    Good impersonation of a Trekkie — you would have had me fooled! The pictures are reallly hilarious! And the bald eagle is wonderful. A few years ago there were some that would hang out in the park by our house, but they’ve been sticking closer to the Mississippi in recent years.

    After a few days of wind, I want to kill somebody. Make it stop!

    Reply

  3. Chris
    Feb 09, 2008 @ 08:48:32

    Are those tumbleweeds?!? I love that last picture – R&R are huge, aren’t they?! 🙂

    Reply

  4. hazelspi
    Feb 09, 2008 @ 20:56:55

    Look at the claws on Rufus…he’s the mountain lion, right? It looks like he’s ready to rip those beads right off. High winds here too tonight and -45 degrees wind chill factor. The heater is going full blast, cha ching, cha ching. hls

    Reply

  5. Danielle from SW MO
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 07:28:58

    Loved the Trouble with Tribbles Episode! I even made a bunch of Tribbles for a County Fair while in High School and won 2nd place for them! The Tumbleweeds are cool, we lived in NM for about 8 months and brought back a “NM Christmas Tree” for my MIL, the tumbleweed was the same size as her regular Christmas tree 🙂 She used it as extra decoration for the next couple of years, LOL! Its been cold here but thankfully not windy tho we are supposed to get Iced on in the next couple of days. Have fun

    Reply

  6. Dave Daniels
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 12:35:19

    OMG, the dirty look from the kitty on the left, with the beads. I’d be VERy afraid of retaliation!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

