It’s all Peggy’s fault

I was knitting along minding my own business at Friday Night Knit Night and noticed Peggy was knitting something tweedy (I love tweeds) and smooshie (I love smooshie yarns) and drop dead gorgeous to boot. It was the Annie Scarf by Jane Ellison in the Queensland Collection book. The book is 4 years old, no telling why I haven’t noticed it before. All the patterns use Queensland Collection Kathmandu Aran (mine is colorway 121). I’ll be using Kid Seta (colorway 689) rather than the Queensland Collection Soft Comfort Mohair for the ends and fringe. I bought extra yarn so I can make the scarf both deeper and longer so I can wear it as a wrap. This project is next in queue.
anniescarf.jpg
I’m almost done seaming my Moss Stitch jacket. If I hadn’t of put it down for 2 weeks, I would have had it done in mid-January. Oh well. I have just one arm seam to go and then I pick up the neckline for the collar and it’s done. I’ll be destashing my full balls of the Rowan Yorkshire Tweed Chunky if anyone is interested. 8 balls I think. I’ll be posting it to Ravelry by the weekend.

Watched my first movie last night on our new HDTV. Guess I failed to mention that last week we finally bought a new TV. Our largest one in the house (and our primary TV in the family room) was our 25″ Sony Trinitron from 1983. The largest made back then. It was still running fine, churning along but didn’t have a digital tuner and we’d just plain been wanting to upgrade for a while. Knitting Hubby enjoyed watching the super bowl on the new one, and I later enjoyed watching the movie Chocolat again. I enjoy it for its story and the actors including Judi Dench and Leslie Caron, and for those of you that are Johnny Depp fans – yes this is a Johnny Depp movie.

You all know what last Saturday was don’t you? It was our annual local Son’s of Norway Lutefisk dinner. Except for the two years we lived back east, we gone every year since the early 80’s. Good food, great bakery items and Lingonberry preserves to purchase afterwards. And since I bought the preserves I made scones yesterday for breakfast. Knitting Hubby brought home a few tablespoons of Lutefisk for Rufus. Rufus is loving the tiny chunks we’ve fed him.

We had more snow this weekend!
rattlesnake.jpg

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 10:31:39

    Ewww – lutefisk! *shudders* I do love the smooshiness of the Kathmandu and Jo Sharp Silk Road. Yum.

    Reply

  2. heideho
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 10:50:03

    My mom and dad go to the Lutefisk Festival every year in Aberdeen and they love it. I’ve never tried lutefisk myself, which according to my Scandinavian family, is blasphemy of the most unforgivable sort. I can’t wait to see your completed jacket and I’ll need to stay away from Ravelry to avoid temptation. Nope, don’t need more yarn. Really… okay, so maybe one peek wouldn’t hurt anything.

    Reply

  3. Miss T
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 11:12:35

    Lingonberry preserves, yum. But I’ve never been able to bring myself to try lutefisk.

    Reply

  4. beverly
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 11:47:57

    Neal often relays the story that his dad used to tell him about his Norwegian grandfather (N’s great-grand father) saying “Eat your lutefisk, boy!”–the horror! Still, one day we’d both like to check out a lutefisk festival…

    Reply

  5. Danielle from SW Missouri
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 17:02:25

    I lived with a Norwegian family for a yr back in 91/92 and thankfully never was made to try Lutefisk! *shudders at the thought*

    Reply

  6. jessie
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 03:55:08

    I think we have that same Trinitron. Did yours have the individual channel buttons down the side? It still works, but is currently banished to the barn, as we bought an HD widescreen (a petite 30″, but still) two years ago.

    Love that scarf/shawl thingy. I’m going to look it up on Ravelry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

