Inside out PJ’s

At 5:49 am -ish on Friday I’d just finished up a brilliant let me tell you brilliant blog all about giving myself a dope slap the night before and when I pushed the save button it disappeared! The dope slap was all about how I’d cast on 3 other Fake Isle hats in the past (but only knitted 2 because I didn’t like the color combo’s). And somehow I had to tink back 6 rows on this one because I was reading chart 2 first rather than chart 1. If it hadn’t been for the decreases – which is why I thought “why are there decreases in the beginning of the hat”, I would have gone on knitting the whole chart 2. My justification for the boo-boo? In english we read from left to right and chart 2 was on the left. i was able to knit the correct chart at Friday Night Knit Night with all its distractions.
fake-isle-21.jpg
We are famous!! For the second time in 2 years our local paper has featured us local knitters. Not much goes on in this place so knitting got almost 2 full pages in the Sunday paper. A few weeks ago a reporter came to talk to us at FNKN.
sno-day.jpg
Saturday was a nice relaxing day up until mid-afternoon that is. I was over visiting with Judie and Famous Jessica at Sheeps Clothing, and volunteered to go on a coffee run. While my order was being prepared the promised ice storm started up in earnest so I high tailed it back to the shop and then home. By the time I got to the hiway you could see slip marked in the tire tracks. Most of us were going 30-35 in the 60 zone and no one minded. The ice storm lasted for a couple of hours. Knitting Hubby stuck his head out the door at 10 pm and it was raining on top of the ice. I woke up at 4 this morning (ok, you’re right, Rufus woke me up) and it was snowing. Still snowing now. We have about 9 inches at our house and it’s still coming down. The picture above was taken at 10 this morning before we hiked over to the local grocers for a latte and muffin breakfast (and to grocery shop toting a back pack). I know it doesn’t look too deep but that is snow that has filtered through the tree above.

We have a long standing tradition of not having indoor/outdoor cats. The only time they get to go out is to the vets office and when it snows. You can tell what Ruby was yelling at us can’t you!?? Rufus once he gets used to it really likes it. Ruby high tails it to the front door.
get-me-outta-here.jpg

i-like-sno.jpg
I’v mentioned before that I don’t wear hats, scarves and mittens until it gets real cold. It’s been cold enough during the week that I’ve worn my bright orange mittens everyday for my lunch walks. Toasty. Today for our breakfast hike I broke out a woven scarf I did a few years back. I think it’s in a Rowan tweed if I remember right. Brushed back, broken twill woven on my Rasmussen. I used to weave a ton. All the fabric for my parent’s dining room chairs, other upholstry for seat covers, linen tea towels etc. And scarves.
woven-scarf-1.jpg
I’ve been in the mood big time lately to get back into weaving, like I need one more fiber art to do right now. So when I saw someone that wanted to trade white roving for a Kromski Harp, I sent her an inventory of what I had. I’d been meaning to thin the roving herd for a while anyway and I’d been selling off yarn stash so I didn’t have to trade much out of pocket for the Harp.
woven-scarf-2.jpg

Time to stir the meatsauce. I make mine thick. So thick you can stand a spoon in it, the same way I like my oatmeal and my coffee! I even made meatballs today. Dinner in a few hours. My spaghetti sauce isn’t sauce unless it’s simmered for 8 or so hours.

The cat in the last post? Never did figure out what painting it reminded me of. It’s out there somewhere. Knitting Hubby has been collecting pics of cat paintings for me. I’ll start showing them this week. They are too cool!

The inside out PJ’s? That’s what you are supposed to do if you want a snow day the next day. Wear your PJ bottoms inside out and put a spoon under your pillow. I want a snow day tomorrow.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Jan 27, 2008 @ 18:46:02

    So your cats like the snow? My cats would high-tail it back in the house.

    Reply

  2. heideho
    Jan 27, 2008 @ 19:31:52

    Ruby and Rufus look like lions! I can’t wait to see the cat pictures you put up. You weave too? Wow! You are just amazing Susan. Your fake isle hat is very prettty.

    Reply

  3. Chris
    Jan 27, 2008 @ 20:30:19

    They look like wild cats!! Hey, with 9″+ of snow, it would be irresponsible to try to go to work tomorrow. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Cathy-Cate
    Jan 27, 2008 @ 20:40:13

    I love the Maine Coons in the snow! They look like they are in their natural habitat, even if Ruby doesn’t think so.
    Mmm, I can smell the meat sauce.
    And I love the newspaper article mentioning the irreverent humor. Great thing to be known for!
    Your old weather is coming our way; after lots of snow and subzero, it’s now above freezing and supposed to rain tomorrow. It’s not supposed to rain in Wisconsin in January, I’ll have you know! I think the weatherperson got us mixed up!

    Reply

  5. kmkat
    Jan 27, 2008 @ 21:05:19

    Love the Maine coons! Big fluffy kitties should enjoy the snow — mine do, at least for the first few minutes.

    I’m thinking I’d fit right into your knitting group — irreverent humor is my specialty 🙂

    Reply

  6. Danielle from SW Missouri
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 14:18:41

    My mom’s Maine Coons always loved the snow, however my Manx while she loves the water…Hates the snow!

    Reply

  7. Jeanne
    Jan 29, 2008 @ 19:25:32

    My cats hate the snow – they jump all over. I’ll have to try your suggestion to get a snow day – I would really love one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

