This is going to bug me

This is going to bug me till I figure it out. I was over at William of Mass Destruction and there was this picture (of Caroline? or is this Olivia??) (shown below). I immediately thought that it reminded me of a painting, a specific painting. That unused part of my brain fired like crazy. OK so I am bit nuts aren’t I?? I can’t even think of what the subject matter of the painting that part of my brain is thinking of. Maybe it’s the colors used? Maybe it’s the position of the head? The soulful eyes? I keep thinking the painting is not even of a cat. Give me a break as it has been 33 years since I took an art history class…
cat-face-caroline.jpg

Anyone?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KnottyPurl
    Jan 23, 2008 @ 15:57:41

    Only one I could find immediately was Matisses’ cat

    I know I know know know there is another one that is more folk art in nature of a calico that really looks like this.
    Hugs

    Reply

  2. Gaenor
    Jan 23, 2008 @ 16:08:23

    Hi, i just happened upon your page and spotted the cat picture, to my eyes, it reminds me of the Girl with the Pearl Earring by Vermeer. It’s the incline of head and eyes? What do you think?

    Reply

  3. bea
    Jan 23, 2008 @ 17:40:12

    I haven’t a clue but she is a lovely cat.

    Reply

  4. Miss T
    Jan 24, 2008 @ 14:34:41

    Oh boy, I have no idea.

    Reply

  5. heideho
    Jan 24, 2008 @ 19:04:04

    Well, with the sultry half-lidded eyes and her tongue poking out from between her lips I think she looks like a model for “Cat House” or “Play Cat” magazine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

