Hazy shade of winter

Look around, leaves are brown, and the sky, is a hazy shade of winter. Pat yourself on the back if you know who wrote those lyrics – no cheating though, no googling. Bet you’ll be singing it all day!
hazy.jpg
Just in case you were wondering what my zip code looks like this time of year.

Knitting Hubby and I went on a search for Moo Goo Gai Pan last night and ended up at a restaurant we hadn’t been to in 10 years. Then remembered why. It was just ok, they didn’t really have Moo Goo Gai Pan. And part of it was the realization that if we’d spent a $1 more per dish we could have eaten at PF Changs. Oh well.

Before I start the collar on my moss stitch jacket I think I’ll get a refresher from Judie on mattress stitch. Since the moss stitch give more of a garter stitch looking edge to it, I’m not sure if it’s better to stitch the loops or the bar. One last view of Ruby taken when she snuck over for a nap on the sleeve. She kept turning her head like “If I don’t look at you, you can’t see me right?”
nothing-wrong-here.jpg
I’m loving working with the Rowan Yorkshire Tweed Chunky and over New Years bought more to make another sweater. I really like these two but they don’t go up to kitkatknit sized (more like pennknits sized).

Neaty in Rowan 42
neaty.jpg
and Nevis in Rowan A Seasons Tale
nevis-sweater.jpg
I could try the Sienna Cardigan (Interweave Knits, Fall 2006) but it’s knit in worsted rather than bulky. But then again I’ve been thinking about purchasing a test skein of Beaverslide McTaggart Tweeds – Fisherman Weight in Elderberry to see how I like it… Also need to see what pattern Blogless Kim used for her Noro vest that I just love love love. But betting she just winged it…

Time to roll to work. Nice and cold here again today. 11 when I got up. We have friends in Meacham OR where it was -23 this morning!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Jan 23, 2008 @ 09:31:56

    Brrr! It’s only -2F here right now – nothing compared to -23F!!

    Those are cute sweaters…

    Duh, S&G. And I can totally resist that earworm.

    Reply

  2. Punkin
    Jan 23, 2008 @ 12:50:46

    Ummm The Mamas and the Papas? Mama Cass?

    Reply

  3. deb
    Jan 23, 2008 @ 13:27:53

    i really love the second sweater! And oh, how I’d love a kitty who actually took a nap once in a while!

    Reply

  4. Denise
    Jan 23, 2008 @ 17:18:37

    I can’t take part in your bunny thumper contest cos I don’t have a cat (I’m allergic to them, whaaaaaa!) I used to have two of them and LOVE cats. We have a little Shih Tzu but I won’t even attempt to measure his!
    But I can tell you that Simon and Garfunkel wrote said song (or perhaps it was just Simon?) I think!
    Oh, and I think this is my first visit, found your link on peaknits!

    Reply

  5. Heide
    Jan 23, 2008 @ 19:04:19

    That would be the Bangles! The Sienna Cardigan is very nice and with larger yarn and needles changing the gauge should be plausible. What a lovely picture of your ZIP code. Ruby is being coy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

