No catchy title today

Sorry nothing no catchy title today unless I did something like a Firesign Theater quote just to see who out there is paying attention. Fire who??? Never mind, I thought so.
jacket-progress.jpg

Moss Stitch Jacket is speeding along, I should have had the right front panel done tonight but wasn’t paying attention enough and continued way past the P2Tog section than I should have by about 8-9 rows. Crums. So I tinked 3 rows back and I am taking a rest. Next I am going to frog sleeve one to tighten up the gauge. Graham has ordered a ribbed ski hat, the sample he showed me was in a hot chocolate med brown (Wheeless Nancy knows this Heilo colorway) with a couple pale sky blue stripes in it. He could knit this himself but he’s back at work at school and his roomie claims Graham really does nothing but study all the time. OK. The inspector loves the sweater. Ruby has adopted the gauge swatch as her own bankie and has been eyeing the jacket thinking it’s for her.
off-the-table.jpg
Take a look at the size of Ruby’s bunny thumpers! Big feet on this one.
bunnythumpers.jpg

When we got up this morning it had just finished snowing or ice-ing. Not enough to be bad to drive in and not very many slick spots on the road. Mid morning it snowed big dinner plate sized flakes, then it rained on top of it. By noon it was sunny and pleasant so I went for my walk. I didn’t bring a camera and it figures, when I don’t then I see bunnies and fun birds and ice sparkling off frozen leaves.

At work today I “got to” send of the rest of the rejection letters telling applicants to our graduate program that the weren’t getting an offer. Lucky me. I manage the program marketing, the recruiting and the hiring so I get to give the good news and the bad. Once they are hired they are some one else on the team’s ward.
mug-bra.jpg

Oh forgot to show you what came in the mail the other day! MIL Hazel made Dave and I quilted batik mug bra’s. OK I know there is a diffferent name but I can’t think of it right now. Aren’t these great!! I get to officially try mine out Tuesday morning – my only day I buy a latte. (only at my favorite place, always skim milk and only on Tuesdays when I get double punches on my card). Hey Chris – those cats look familiar…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 07:22:35

    Hey, not all of us come into blogland illiterate and ignorant of the good stuff. I love me some Firesign Theatre! (okay, so it’s audio not book, but I don’t know the word for that).

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 07:26:24

    I have that same mug!!! Mug cozy the phrase you’re looking for? That’s a gorgeous one from Hazel! Hi, Ruby!

    Reply

  3. kt
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 10:05:41

    I was lucky enough to meet 3 of the 4 guys once and 4 of the 4 guys at a “25th Anniversary Tour” show a few years later–just found my “Mark Time” album yesterday whilst packing–Firesign, ahhh, Firesign. Checked out their site lately?

    Reply

  4. heideho
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 11:10:39

    Ruby’s adoption of the swatch and SWIP caused me to have flashbacks to a former kitty who owned me named Paisley. Paisley was a one-owner cat. He absolutely detested everyone else, especially my husband. One year I decided to knit throws for my husband’s mother and aunt. The entire time I knitted Paisley sat next to me making biscuits and rubbing nostrel sauce on the blankets. He’s take the occasional break to stop and glare at Brian (DH). Of course I pointed this out at every opportunity to Brian while proclaiming loudly about how much Paisley loved his Mama. The day came when the blankets were completed and mailed to their new owners. That evening Paisley jumped up on the couch next to me and started to wail. He then proceeded to sniff the yarn basket and everyplace in the room. All the while making the most pitiful noises imaginable. At bedtime he waited for me to get comfortable and then he jumped up to claim is regular place next to me… or so I thought. Rather than curling up and snuggling, he peed on me and then ran and hid. The next morning I had to buy more of the same yarn (a mohair blendJ) and knit Paisley his own kitty-sized blanket. It made him happy. He loved on that blanket regularly for the rest of his life and we buried it with him when he died. My Dh never let me forget about the incident. The only other time Paisley acted out in such a manner was when he came home from the vet’s office without his “nuffies”. He actually pooped on me then. Unfortunately there wasn’t much I could do to replace them. Anyway, let’s hope that Ruby doesn’t become too attached to your sweater!

    Reply

  5. hazelspi
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 20:57:00

    I think the pattern name was “Coffee Clutch”…a “go green” thing which replaces the cardboard usually wrapped around the styrofoam cups. Enjoy! Hazel

    Reply

  6. Cathy-Cate
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 10:50:24

    Oh, my husband and I still sometimes talk in Firesign Theatre-speak (when we’re not talking Python-ese), and our kids look at us like we’re nuts.
    We routinely go to the Old Same Place (you can’t get there from here), for example.
    Ruby’s so pretty.
    Heideho’s story was hilarious! That swatch might have to stay with Ruby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

