Cold turkey (but only for 4 days)

Way back 30 plus years ago I was a Pepsi addict. This was before diet soft drinks (except Tab and Diet Right Cola). I could swig down a 2 liter bottle on the way home from the store, warm. And in Colorado at the time, sugar was coming from sugar beets. The strong stuff. The black tar hash of sugar. I knew the location of every Pepsi machine in my zip code. Given the choice between a warm 25 cent bus ride home from work in a snow storm or spending that last quarter in a pop machine and icy feet? Well you can figure the answer to that one.

So I decided to cut out all cola type drinks in my life figuring I was addicted to the caffeine. Nope I found I could do the same with 7-Up or Squirt. So I cold turkeyed all soft drinks. None, nada, not a one passed my lips for 13 years. Only milk, lemonade, juices (not even coffee for many years as I didn’t like the taste of it for another 10 years) were my only drinks. Those and ice tea. Brewed ice tea with a slice of lemon. mmmmmm, ice tea. Year round I usually start my day with a cuppa coffee and the rest of the day is ice tea. mmmmm, ice tea. Things went fine for many years, until August of 1990 when we moved to the Washington DC area for a couple of years to work. South of the Mason-Dixon line. Land of (eeeeewwwwhhhh) sweet tea.

I’d order an ice tea and they’d give me a strange look and ask Sweet Tea? No, ice tea, you know brewed with a tea bag, served over ice with a slice of lemon? No darlin’ we have Sweet Tea. WTF!??? Please please please I’ll pay extra if you brew me some hot tea and bring a glass of ice. Please please. So somewhere by autumn of 1990 I was back to ordering an occasional soda. Never ever a cola based drink or even root beer. And to this day you’ll only see me drinking an occasional Diet Dew, diet Squirt, Fresca or diet 7. But ice tea, my beloved ice tea? Just with a slice of lemon, never sugar, never sweetener. Gallons a day. Now how come I can’t stop anything else cold turkey?

So on Sunday I’d gone all day with out my iced tea and all the little shops at my metro stop were closed because it was the weekend. I could survive overnight on ice tea from a jar. My hotel convienence store only carried jared sweet tea! Noooooo. I could survive till lunch on Monday. We went to an underground restaurant to grab a bite. No iced tea. No tea at all ‘cept sweet tea. Panic panic. Dinner. Ok so I ordered wine right away to take my mind off the lack of ice tea. Tuesday? More of Monday. No problem, there’s a McDonalds at Reagan National airport and I could get my ice tea fix by 8:00 am. McDonalds informed me no ice tea, sweet tea, along with all the other vendors. I finally caught on so I didn’t even bother asking in Atlanta. By noon yesterday I surrendered to the fact that I was going to have to wait till I got home. I stopped at the McD’s closest to our airport and bought one. An ice tea where when you ask for one it comes cold, with lemon, and NO sweetener! aaaaahhhhhhh.
mom-xmas-socks.jpg
There was definately knitting progress the past 4 days. Finished Mom’s Christmas socks, worked on Version 12 gift until I got to the lace part that stunk to do with Addi Turbo US11’s since they are very blunt in that size. Started socks for me with yarn from Rabbit Ridge Design. (part of my Anchorage stash) I have the Metal colorway. I’m thinking the Thuja pattern for these. Casual Cable Cardigan sweater earned even more frequent flyer miles without coming out of the knitting bag.
rabbit-ridge.jpg

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bruisinraincloud
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 05:30:54

    what a bizzare world. That is punishment worse than any I could imagine!

    If you give me your addy I will gladly mail you some portable teabags…LOL…shame shame on them!

    Reply

  2. heideho
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 09:15:23

    My husband’s families are from North Carolina and Virginia. Visiting relatives is always an adventure. Being from the NW I love my coffee, preferably freshly ground and strong enough to stand a spoon up in. With this in mind one set of folks splurged and bought Folger’s instead of instant coffee… bless their hearts. Needing caffeine and not wanting to appear rude I gagged down the offensive brew each morning. While there I learned about the afore-mentioned sweet tea, hush puppies, Carolina BBQ, and Cheer Wine. I also learned an entire new vocabulary. But in the words of Dorothy, “There’s no place like home!”

    Reply

  3. Chris
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 09:19:13

    Ok, you need one of those Starbucks portable tea brewer thingies – a travel mug that you brew tea in. Don’t leave home without it!

    Congrats on being one of the winners in my personals ad contest. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Jennifer
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 09:23:43

    Oh, I’d never survive without my iced tea. I can’t understand why anyone would sweeten it!

    Reply

  5. Jeanne
    Dec 15, 2007 @ 06:21:06

    Cute socks! Too funny on your ice tea saga – but glad you finally got a “real” glass!

    Reply

  6. Jessica
    Dec 15, 2007 @ 10:49:35

    I totally agree on the tea! No sweetener and a slice of lemon. The socks look great and I love the colorway you got from Rabbit Ridge.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

