Fair Isle Bird House

Yes knitting progress today in between meetings and waiting for interviewees to show up.
dc9.jpg
My hotel and work this week is about 2.5 long blocks from the Smithsonian Castle.
dc4.jpg
I wanted to go to the Phillips Museum after work but it’s not open on Mondays, and closes at 5 on Tuesdays. So as soon as I was done for the day I changed clothes and high tailed it to the Air and Space Museum and the Sackler museum on the way back because they were the very closest. I had 20 minutes at each. Barely a taste. Probably the same amount of time tomorrow. I thought this display was pretty funny showing a classic first class meal from the past. I KNOW the plastic fake food must taste better than what you get now, it you get anything.
dc3.jpg
dc11.jpg
After the museums I caught a taxi with EECD (Eastern European Cab Dude). We chit chatted all the way to Georgetown while he drove in the nightly rush hour Grand Prix. I used to drive here? Was I crazy?? I had him drop me off at Clyde’s for dinner. Sat at the bar, had excellent service, food and wine.
dc10.jpg
Then I window shopped at the Georgetown Mall. I’m not a mall shopper so it was a quick window shop. And look what I found!
dc8.jpg
dc7.jpg
dc6.jpg
dc5.jpg
All you big city kids have probably seen the last one, the window at an Anthropologie store. Us small town kids get excited when there is a whole window of balls of yarn. My taxi ride back to the hotel was interesting? I had MECD (Middle Eastern Cab Dude) that drove only about 5 mph slower than EECD, talked to his dash board the entire ride (I never did spot the cell phone or bluetooth headset) and waved (and talked and maybe even prayed with) both hands while driving.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Dec 10, 2007 @ 20:36:44

    I haven’t seen that yarn ball store front (me no go to malls) – thanks for sharing! Hee hee – that’s the new challenge of our age, isn’t it? It’s not “Is it live or Memorex?” Now it’s “Is it Bluetooth or mental illness?”

    Reply

  2. Miss T
    Dec 11, 2007 @ 08:32:28

    They’re lucky a gang of knitters hasn’t raided that window.

    Reply

  3. heideho
    Dec 11, 2007 @ 09:02:48

    Next time you go can I come along as your personal assistant? What a fun trip. I wonder what the store is going to do with all of that yarn? I wonder what it would be like to roll naked in it? Sorry, that’s a different kind of store window… of course I’m assuming that it isn’t just cheap acrylic. I”m dying here reading about your taxi descriptions. Heck, you can tell the flight attendant sculpture depicts a long gone era without even looking at the food. The flight attendant is smiling and looks like she might have something nice to say.

    Reply

  4. Laurie
    Dec 11, 2007 @ 12:19:43

    Love that bird house! I haven’t seen the display, either, but it makes the pulse quicken! LOL!

    Reply

  5. Danielle
    Dec 11, 2007 @ 12:28:41

    I haven’t been shopping in a long time — most of the holiday gifts are handmade or bought online — so I haven’t seen the Anthropologie window either. Also, just wanted to let you know that I cast on for a pair of mittens with the yarn that you sent me earlier this year — photo on my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

