Rosemary C. Looney July 1992 – November 16, 2007

rainbow3.jpg
I had to wait a week to post this for a couple of reasons. Graham had a test or two last week and we didn’t want Rosemary to be on his mind. I had to wait for me for the glass shard sadness to subside a bit before I could put this to print.

I’m sure I’ve told you about Rosemary but here’s a few more details and tales. She adopted us at the shelter in February of 1993. We went there for a kitten, but she was so insistant “BOY hey boy you you hey boy pick me don’t look at the kittens pick me me me hey BOY” She was about half grown, a sleek tuxedo girl. Back then your adoption fee included a voucher for a vet visit and a percentage off a spay/neuter. We took her in, found that she was probably between 8 and 9 months old, had never had kittens and had already been fixed. The vet thought that she’d been an indoor kitty till she escaped from her home as she still had nice little toe tufts. We decided that we’d celebrate her birthday on the 4t of July each year.

She came home with us without a name. That night she wandered up and down the halls and sang to us in a little tuxedo voice. By early morning we had named her after Rosemary Clooney. But in her case, Rosemary C. Looney.

For 13 years her job was to make sure Graham got ready for school. We’d find her asleep with him in the morning, she’d follow him to breakfast and the bath and when we’d leave for school she’d go back to bed, her job done for the morning. She’d greet him at the door when he came home from school, help with homework, watch Animal Planet with him and tuck him in every night. When Graham went off to college, Rosemary switched over and made sure that we got ready for work.

I know i’ve mostly mentioned her relationship with Rufus and Ruby. She was the Queen and don’t you forget it.

Last March or so she started losing weight and the vet said she had hyperthyroidism. Put her on the same meds I am on. Rosemary and I got a kick out of that since I got fat and she stayed skinny. She just never would take those bitter little pills without a fight (believe me, I know how bad they taste) so when we went in for her checkup a couple months ago I asked if there was a formulation we could use so she didn’t play pill hockey with them (I’d find the pills hours later after she’d swear she took them but actually hid them betwen her lips and gums). We had the local pharmacy compound the meds with tuna juice. Made it so easy to give the meds to her and she “almost” enjoyed it. She gained weight. She showed off by climbing higher and higher in the cat tree. She got her goofy little self back.

But on November 12-13 her little body crashed, her kidney’s or something must have shut down. Her quality of life tanked and Knitting Hubby and I felt that it was time to let go. We chose Friday the 16th, giving ourselves a few days to cushion the upcoming blow. We told her what was going on, we played with roving. We took her in at 11:15 am and by 11:25 she was crossing the Rainbow Bridge. We held her close, talked to her, kissed her boney little head one last time. We told her that as a kittie angel she could fly and catch birds mid-flight. Little did we know that she was walking over the Rainbow bridge later that evening with Jack. Somehow it made it a little more comforting for me.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dave Daniels
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 11:18:58

    OMG, I am so sorry to hear about RCL. Reading your story brought back memories of my little Mr. Bambi, and I’m sitting here in my office at work, tearing for you…

    Reply

  2. bruisinraincloud
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 11:20:39

    I am so so sorry, sweetie.

    God love your heart.

    I know this was hard on you all.

    In my prayers, friends.

    Know that God is with your Rosemary.

    Reply

  3. Chris
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 11:40:11

    Oh, I am so, so, so very sorry to hear about Rosemary. 😦 *HUG*

    Reply

  4. Danielle from SW Missouri
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 12:55:22

    Losing a beloved pet is as hard as losing a human family member. You and your family 2 and 4 footed ones, will be in all our prayers.

    Reply

  5. Karen
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 13:41:37

    So sorry to hear the news about Rosemary. My best to you, KH and Graham.

    Reply

  6. hazelspi
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 16:39:54

    I’m so sorry you have lost Rosemary. I feel like I knew her well from hearing you talk about her over the years. We lost our little Sapphire (a black poodle) some years ago after she was hit by a car and I know the pain is the same as the loss of a family member. So sorry. hls

    Reply

  7. Jennifer
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 16:48:34

    My deepest sympathies go out to you and your family. I’ve lost furbabies before and it’s so painful.

    Reply

  8. Cathy-Cate
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 17:51:44

    OH, tears here. We know they have to leave us sometime, but they take part of our hearts with them.
    Luckily a part of them is still curled up in our hearts too.

    Reply

  9. Laurie
    Nov 24, 2007 @ 09:13:34

    I read the title about 5 times before I realized it wasn’t Rosemary Clooney…again.

    I’m sorry for your loss. You were kind to her in life and in letting her go when it was time.

    Reply

  10. kt
    Nov 24, 2007 @ 13:02:30

    So sorry for your loss. Sounds to me as though she made a wise choice when she found you. Sending warm hugs from here.

    Reply

  11. YTT
    Nov 25, 2007 @ 13:17:35

    Oh, I’m so sorry for all your losses this month. But what beautiful tributes you wrote – they made Rosemary, and Jack, come alive to all of us reading.

    It sounds like Orcas is a wonderful place to grieve, and heal.

    Reply

  12. heideho
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 18:10:25

    Oh no! I am so very sorry to hear about the loss of your dear, sweet kitty. I’m so glad that she was insistent on coming home with you way back when. Bug hugs to you, Graham and the KH too.

    Reply

  13. Homeschool Harry
    Nov 29, 2007 @ 14:24:48

    So sorry for your loss! Try to take faith and hang in there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

