Twenty One

Our one and only is 21 today! He’s come far in 21 years and had more accomplishments than we could ever ever ever imagine! (I could go on for 5 pages here…) Graham started out just a little over 3 pounds. He tried showing up week 26 and showed up week 31. He was in NICU for only 9 days and got to come home when he weighed 4 pounds. Graham is celebrating today by going to class, having a test, having to make his own dinner and then just maybe go out for a beer. His roommate Brian won’t be 21 until tomorrow. I can just imagine those two waiting for midnight so they can go out and celebrate together! There was some talk of pumpkin ale at a local microbrewery. We are heading up to Seattle for the weekend to bring pressies, take Graham bike shopping and go to the Kelly Joe Phelps concert.

This morning Knitting Hubby is scheduled for arthroscopic knee surgery. They’ll be going in to vacuum and trim off some spurs. It would be nice if they did the surgery under local anesthesia so he can get back to knitting right away rather than having to wait for general anesthesia to wear off. Nurses Ruby and Rosemary will attend to him after I drop him off at the house post surgery.
surgery.jpg

No knitting has been accomplished lately. Well not since Friday night when Wheeless Nancy and I figured out we as usual were on the exact same row. (though she sped ahead of me over the weekend on the casual cables cardigan) I did finish spinning my OFFF roving and am about 1/2 way through plying. It spun up a lot darker than I imagined it would. Can’t wait to see it skeined! I’m wondering if there will be enough yardage to knit a scarf for my brother. I’m thinking the Yarn Harlot’s One Row Handspun Scarf.

coffee.gif

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bruisinraincloud
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 09:21:59

    praying for everyone there, and tell ’21’ Happy Birthday!

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 13:45:57

    Happy Birthday, Graham! And good luck to KH on the surgery.

    Reply

  3. Miss T
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 15:06:11

    Good luck to your husband with his surgery and Happy Birthday to Graham! Okay, I realize I sound like an echo of Chris, but great minds think alike.

    Reply

  4. heideho
    Oct 31, 2007 @ 06:24:58

    Happy birthday! to Graham. Ouch and get well soon to DH. Knit on! to you. Scritches to the kitty crew.

    Reply

  5. kmkat
    Nov 02, 2007 @ 21:41:06

    Congrats to DH on his arthro surgery. My husband had that done — under a local — 10 or 15 years ago. What a godsend that kind of surgery is — less invasive, less dangerous, less expensive, less recovery pain than traditional surgery.

    Reply

  6. Sachi
    Nov 09, 2007 @ 14:46:00

    Erm… I’m a wee bit behind on my bloglines… Glad hubby’s surgery went well and I hope the kiddo had a great 21st!

    Reply

  7. kt
    Nov 11, 2007 @ 15:28:04

    Oh, that scarf pattern is a dream. I’ve used it for dishclothes and blanket squares and it’s just a fabulous thing. Tres elegant in it’s simplicity.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

