NO guidance from Martha Stewart

Obviously. Our son sent a video and some still pics of what their apartment looks like after living there a month.
murphy-apt-3.jpg
Note the poster in the center, of course it is Blutarsky! What looks like a TV stand is the tiny dining room table that came with the apartment, Brian brought a normal sized dining table for them from home. They’re learning to get by without a dishwasher and since they own so few plates, pots and silverware seem to be washing all the time. Such a hardship. 😉

If you need a quick knit for a present, and one that is a potential stash buster, the Elliott the Dragon pattern from Interweave Knits Holiday Gifts 2007 is a lot of fun. I knitted one up this weekend as “Gilbert the Fish” as a Christmas present for my work collegue’s daughter who will be almost 3 at Christmas. I only made 2/3 of the repeats since she is so young, added fins, and put the eyeballs on flounder style. As you can see I really needed a hand model for these photos. Maybe sometime before now and the holidays…
gilbert-1.jpg
gilbert-2.jpg
gilbert-3.jpg

I think my next quick holiday project will be either a Fake Isle hat or a Shape It scarf from “The Knitting Experience: Book 1: The Knit Stitch” for Betsy. It takes about 250 yards so I could do it from some of my handspun stash, or just something tried and true that I’ve done the scarf in before.

Meanwhile on the sweater front, I have 3 rows left of the neck shaping on side one, then the few rows of stockinette stitch before starting the back or side 2. Watching The Next Iron Chef is great for sweater progress!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rae
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 11:50:57

    love your new layout! I had to double check my link! The hand puppet is too cute! Judie and I talked about how one could do the hat on the cover of the IK Holiday issue in Fake Isle…..mmmm….interested?

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 13:37:54

    That’s a cute puppet! Hee hee – that first picture gives me flashback to those old college days…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

