Knitting as an artform

Well we all know that don’t we? Looks like museums are seeing it that way now too. We saw knitting as art at Bumbershoot 2006 in Seattle, at the Anchorage Museum last month and now at the Albright-Knox. Knitting Hubby in his last weekend in Ellicottville and Buffalo NY made sure he toured some regional galleries and museums. He only got yelled at a few times by the gallery guards for snapping a few pics.
codpiece1.jpg

booties.jpg

big-butt.jpg

tiger.jpg

Here’s my favorite – knitted sushi with eyeballs.
eyeball-sushi.jpg

The gallery also had these jewels.
mouse.jpg

dizzy-cat.jpg

You do know the artist on this one don’t you?
sundae.jpg

I am now knitting the left front panel of my casual cable cardigan and within a few rows of the deceases for the neck. I feel like I am finally making some progress since the parts are in bite sized pieces for a while – untill I start on the sleeves.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Oct 19, 2007 @ 07:00:24

    Eyeball sushi – eeek!

    Reply

  2. heideho
    Oct 19, 2007 @ 08:18:59

    I believe that knitting is art… but I’m thinking that different projects might better represent the craft. For example, the entire knitted digestive tract showed creativity and skill… and some fair isle is truly magnificent in its colorwork. Sadly, I don’t recognize the artist, but I enjoy the pictures. Hope you have a great weekend.

    Reply

  3. kmkat
    Oct 19, 2007 @ 12:00:49

    I’m guessing Miro. At first I thought Dali, then realized it was nothing like Dali’s style. The squiggles and sort-of dots (eyes) seem more Miro-esque.

    Now you will probably tell me it is really Monet 😉

    Reply

  4. Knitting Bee
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 16:30:20

    mmmmm eyeball sushi yum!! lol

    Reply

  5. Candais
    May 02, 2010 @ 16:25:29

    It’s kind of interesting how crochet lends itself with much more ease to free form and how these pieces are actually not as free form as crochet allows. A lot of the crochet artists usually seem to do more free form abstract pieces so it’s interesting to see artists who are following along more with the knitting tradition of more grid-like pieces that are I guess more “perfect” and not going along with that free form tradition.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: 2010 in review « KitKatKnit

Leave a Reply

