The news from Arroyo Seco

Remember last year when Knitting Hubby and I vacationed in Santa Fe and Taos? And I wrote about how much I loved the Taos Sunflower Yarns and Fibers shop? And how much I’ve loved spinning fibers I bought there? Well this morning I received Martie’s latest news letter with the following news. I think this is so cool!!!!
taos-sunflower.jpg

As you probably already know, Taos Sunflower Yarns & Fibers began in September 2002 as a 100 sq. ft. shop next to my home in the mountains just north of Taos, New Mexico.

Originally opened as a venue for selling my own handspun and specialty yarns, along the way we became one of New Mexico’s largest and well stocked commercial yarn shops. In June 2003, we relocated to our present location in a historic building in the village of Arroyo Seco just north of Taos, New Mexico.

This summer, I had the opportunity to watch the recent PBS series, “Craft In America.” I was, as many of you know, profoundly affected by this account of the hardworking craftsmen and women in this country…often times unnoticed by those of us who are just scrambling each day to do our own jobs.

In watching these hardworking people, I realized that I’ve fallen too far from my original goal of being a spinner, weaver, and dyer. I also decided that I want to support the hard working cottage industry people in this country as much as possible in our shop. Some of these folks are highly visible in the fiber community and some are struggling hard to make their way.

Having said all of that, we are changing our charter to be a shop that specializes in selling yarns and fibers that have passed through artisans’ hands. For now, we plan to keep a limited supply of our most popular, commercial yarns, but my goal going forward is to support the cottage industries and socially redeeming fiber cooperatives in both American and abroad.

We hope to encourage fiber artists to think outside of the box and follow their creative muses. Our favorite projects are ones that include different textures, fibers, and colors…sometimes designed from the inspiration of commercial patterns, and sometimes things that have just evolved while on the needles. I think of this work as painting with yarns and fibers and love the freedom it gives me. I hope you’ll soon feel that fun and freedom in your own work (if you haven’t already)!

We want to be your source for those products that will help you make your own incredible, one of a kind, finished objects. We have been listening to your requests and watching what you enjoy purchasing at Taos Sunflower…and we think this change of focus is going to make shopping with us even more fun.

To make this transition smoothly, we will be closed starting Saturday, Oct. 27, 2007, and reopen on Friday, November 9. Please mark this on your calendar…we would sure hate to have you drive up to see us and find us closed.

Please come and see us when you can…we look forward to being one of the best yarn stores in your world!

As always, thanks for being the best friends and clients we could have ever asked for.

Martie & The Sunflowers

Last night’s progress on the Composed Mitt
composed-22.jpg

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 13:32:14

    That’s really cool! I loved Taos Sunflower the one time I was there – and really enjoyed the wonderful nearby cafe.

    Reply

  2. Miss T
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 07:15:12

    Ohh, that’s going on my list for my next trip to the SW!

    Reply

  3. Jessica
    Oct 13, 2007 @ 08:24:49

    Maybe I need to take a trip to the Southwest? Hmm . . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

