When the working day is done

Girls just want to have fun knitting right? Well after cooking dinner (One-pot Whiskey Pork Chops-Yum!) I drove Knitting Hubby probably half crazy as I rummaged through project bags and made numerous trips to the yarn stash. Restless searching for a yet to be determined project, I was waiting for inspiration to hit. And it did when I re-opened the IK F07 issue again. Yes, perfect!! The Composed Mitts by Michele Rose Orne.
ornemitts.jpg
I gathered up 10 or 11 balls of leftover alpaca, hand spuns and some of the mini skeins I picked up in Albuquerque last month and found six that work great together.
composed-mitts.jpg
Ok so this does mean I didn’t get my last 1″ done on my cardigan before class tonight…But it gave me a happy brain.

Graham called to chit chat last night. He’d just come home from a department meeting, and prior to that pumpkin shopping. I forgot to ask if the pumpkins went to the meeting but I wouldn’t put it past him. He was also calling to remind us that he leaves Thursday at a few minutes after midnight to take the redeye to Dearborn MI for his Tau Beta Pi National Convention. He’s a voting delgate so it looks like he is going to be real busy. I leave Tuesday morning for one of my less than 24 hour recruiting trips (University of Denver). I doubt if I’ll have any time to go on a yarn crawl (like I really need any??) but instead will get to spend the evening with my parents and hopefully my best friend Betsy. My brother will be out of town so I don’t get to see him.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Famous Jessica
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 15:14:20

    For shame!

    Reply

  2. Miss T
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 18:30:25

    Those will be very pretty mitts! Whiskey pork chops? Do tell!

    Reply

  3. Rae
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 19:25:37

    Please do tell on the Whiskey pork chops! the mitts look so much fun. I’ve been leaning the drool pool towards mittens….. hmmmm… must be strong…must finish sweater. Must conquer!

    Reply

  4. Nancy
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 20:00:24

    Whiskey pork chops that sounds great! Those fingerless gloves look like such a fun knit and your colors I love.

    Reply

  5. Jeanne
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 01:59:15

    The gloves are going to be cute – I keep on looking at this pattern. I have a recipe for whiskey pork chops – wonder if its the same one!

    Reply

  6. Danielle
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 13:52:35

    I love these! I’m thinking of spinning some fiber to make them. Hmm, add that to my Rhinebeck list…

    Reply

  7. Linda
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 17:54:14

    These are so beautiful. Remember me from Alaska at the Knitting Grounds. You have the coolest yarn in your stash! We’ve finally started a blog (with your ideas) for our friday night knitting group. Stop by and see. Friday Night Knit@theground
    http://www.fridaynightknit.blogspot.com. It’s a work in progres and we put you down as one of our fav’s. Have a great weekend.
    Happy Knitting
    Linda
    http://zingis2000knitter.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

