Too cool

Focus only on the beauty in those early 1960’s sunglasses. Mom was way too cool before her time. No really! Wish you could have seen the cool stuff she knitted for us. Now she just talks about it. I guess if she lived closer I could nudge her back into knitting again. But anyway. My Dad got transferred from Seattle to Denver in 1963. You know, sea level to mile high. So what do we do like the 3rd weekend we lived there? Drive to the Cliff House on Mt Evans. Yes you are reading the elevation right. 14,260 ft so almost like summiting Mt Rainier. Doesn’t my brother look like he is about to blow chow? I think I was sick all the way back down. (we hiked down and Dad met us at a trail head) Doesn’t Mom look like she is either 1) really enjoying herself and knows she looks great or 2) delirious from the altitude and on the verge of passing out.
beauty.jpg
Don’t I look fashionable in those pink pearl glasses (use your imagination) We used to go to New York City to get our glasses and I picked these out. Pildes Optical is still there at 111 Nassau St and it only carries artsy eyewear. Maybe that’s where Mom got her sunglasses!?!? Note that 44 years later I am still pulling my hair back in a plastic headband, hair is longer and a bit grey, my calves aren’t quite that shapely anymore, and I now have all my teeth.

Meanwhile I finally made it off the cables on casual cables cardigan and celebrated by finishing a bobbin of BFL. Here is a picture of the CCC pattern (only picture I could find of one, hope I don’t look as frumpy in the sweater as the dummies do!)
ccc.jpg

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 12:27:26

    I have that pattern! LOL – NO ONE can look as frumpy as those dummies. 🙂

    What a fun family picture!!

    Reply

  2. deb
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 13:07:01

    Yea – I’d say you’re brother was well on his way to “chunkville” in that picture. You know, those models could really turn me away from those sweaters. You truly have to look beyond them for the beauty of the sweater!

    Loved your comment about the potholder loom but I can’t believe you actually have a craft store called “Wally World”!

    Reply

  3. Miss T
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 13:12:07

    Love the glasses!

    Reply

  4. Laurie
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 15:28:46

    I remember those glasses! Your Mom was too cool for school. 🙂

    LOL about you now having all of your teeth but not the calves. Ya win some, ya lose some. Ain’t the 40’s grand?

    Reply

  5. heideho
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 16:04:33

    Ah heck, in another 40 years or so you’ll probably have bony thighs and be back to fewer teeth. It’s all circular! Great picture! I can’t wait to see your sweater on a real, live person (as opposed to a real, dead person).

    Reply

  6. Cathy-Cate
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 16:40:30

    Awesome picture! Thanks for sharing it!

    Aw, you have just gained with time — more teeth, probably more hair, more height, more calves….

    And you certainly have more personality than the dummies! I realize that’s not saying much, but I mean it in all the best ways.

    Reply

  7. heather t
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 09:28:02

    Hey, not to pester you, but are you offically joining UFOctober? I’d like to add you to our players list! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

