Fall is in the air, Fixation is in the trash

Actually I think the Fixation is still in my little sock wrist bag. I bought a single ball of it a few weeks ago to see if I like knitting in it. Ah – no. Couldn’t get past the greasy feel to it, pattern I was using said to cast on 48 stitches on US5’s. I went down to 2’s and still was not happy. So much for the book then, Knitting Circles Around Socks. Glad I decided to see if I like Fixation before dropping the dollars for the book.

Fall is in the air. My unwritten rule is if the thermometer says it’s below 50 degrees out then I put on a fleece sweater under my summer motorcycle jacket. (under 40 and I wear my winter motorcycle jacket) Today was the first day for me with the fleece. My hands stayed pretty warm in my regular summer gloves, no need for handknit wool socks yet, the leg shield on my Vespa blocks the cold wind real nice. The local weatherman this morning said we are 3″ behind in our average precipitation for the year. Most of you are thinking “so what”. Well since we only average 5-6″ of precip a year it is significant.

Both my guys came home yesterday! Knitting Hubby mid afternoon and Graham late last night. For once all flights were on time. Graham is home packing for college. He and his roomie Brian have an on campus apartment this year, furnished but both having to start from scratch on kitchen supplies, lamps etc. Hopefully it will all fit ok in the truck!

Time to head to work. Bye.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heideho
    Sep 20, 2007 @ 20:01:30

    I have no idea what Fixation is, but if it’s wool then there must be tons of lanolin in it to gross out a die-hard spinner like yourself. Hope you enjoy some at home time with your fellers.

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Sep 21, 2007 @ 07:32:08

    Fixation is, as far as I’m concerned, only good for knitting coffee cup cozies. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Sachi
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 08:26:25

    You know, I don’t think I like the Fixation either. I think mine is also destined for cup cozies. (Catching up on my blog-lines here.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

