Red Sky at Night

slc-sunset.jpg
If Cabin Cove Dave is going to post pics of Red Sky at Morning, I figure I can post Red Sky at Night. This was Thursday taken from my plane window about 10 minutes out of Salt Lake City. We had the beautiful red sky view for almost an hour.

Let’s see, when I last posted I was repacking the knitting bag to take a quick biz trip to Alburquerque to recruit for the lab. My plane landed at 4:30, rolled to the gate and I ran trotted walked fast to pick up my luggage and grab my rental car. I’d forgotten that ABQ’s rentals are all off site. More time wasted. Grabbed my rental car (Chevy HHR – I didn’t like it for a lot of reasons) and started up I-25. Then I realized the map I had printed was still in my printer at my office. I did remember that Village Wools was north and east of the new Target store on Paseo del Norte and I took that exit. Then drove as far as Kohls before I stopped and called Village Wools. My guess as to where the store was, was only a few blocks off. I got there with 30 minutes to shop.
village-wools-4.jpg

village-wools-1.jpg

village-wools-2.jpg

I bought 4 oz of red alpaca to card and spin, some 1.3 oz merino samplers from a Colorado dyer, some deep dark purple dye (this was before I saw Jam over at Jessies but hers is fingerling and I have some sport to dye). Chit chatted with the folks at Village Wools and they’d remembered me from my last trip to their old shop 15 months ago. Actually they didn’t really remember me, the remembered me because they remembered Knitting Hubby (and he wasn’t even with me on this trip) The shop closed promptly at 6 pm and I headed over to Little Anita’s for dinner. Then drove to Central Ave to buy a piece of pie for a late dessert. Thursday sped by, I was at University of New Mexico at 7 am, recruited till 2, checked out the art museum (you just knew someone had to change this sign)
center-for-the-farts.jpg and left for the airport. Of course my incoming plane was arriving 3 hours late (mechanical problems out of El Paso) and I was put out of the knitting mood with that news. I did knit on my flights though.
socks-in-progress.jpg
Finished my socks from Zero’s Glass Narcissus Superwash Merino at Friday Night Knit Night.(though I could swear my tag says BFL???)
socks-number-9.jpg
Don’t you just love the colors in this toe?
number-9-toe.jpg
Saturday? Where did Saturday go? Oh guess I did go to the Farmers Market and on the way I got to see a nuclear sub reactor core on its way to its final resting place.
reactor-core.jpg
My parents rolled into town late afternoon on their way to the Oregon coast. We went to the boat show (don’t own a boat, don’t want a boat ‘cept our kayaks) and yesterday to the Parade of Homes. They left this morning for Astoria, nice visit!!

Next weekend is our local motorscooter rally. I am excited. Knitting Hubby and I are co-hosting the Saturday Rally BBQ along with our friends Randy and Karen. It’s going to be a blast! Guess somewhere along in there I’d better be knitting on my cable sweater….

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dave Daniels
    Sep 17, 2007 @ 09:06:47

    ANOTHER great travelogue! Nice sky and yarn pics.

    Reply

  2. Miss T
    Sep 17, 2007 @ 09:58:07

    Great socks! Nice you had time to get to the yarn shop–looks like a good one.

    Reply

  3. heideho
    Sep 17, 2007 @ 16:54:59

    I love your new socks, the colors are fantastic. It sounds like you had a great time in Albuquerque. I can never hear that city’s name with out thinking about Bugs Bunny missing that left turn! Hope the bbq went well too.

    Reply

  4. Chris
    Sep 18, 2007 @ 08:05:51

    Waaaah! I can’t see any of the pictures. 😦

    Reply

  5. kmkat
    Sep 20, 2007 @ 10:17:30

    You mean they just dump those things out in the ocean somewhere? Grrrrr.

    Reply

  6. Kimberly
    Sep 22, 2007 @ 11:58:32

    Sorry I can’t comment on the right post. I meant this sign is making me giggle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

