Museum day in Anchorage

We got up early (road noise) and Knitting Hubby went for jog on the 11 mile coastal trail here in town. Most of it follows the Cook Inlet coastline. I walked for a while and then found a picnic table over looking the water. Got a few rows done before KH came back. We went to one of our favorite bakeries for breakfast -> Great Harvest. We always eat dinner at the Great Harvest in Butte MT on the way home from South Dakota.park-knit.jpg
By 10:45 we’d found our knitting shop of the day. We loved the Far North Yarn Company! Hi to Fabian and Margo, we had a great time talking to you. I loved the shop because they sell locally dyed and spun yarn. Most of the hanging part of this display in the foreground of this photo was local. I bought some Rabbit Ridge yarn for socks (I know I know, I’m spinning a ton of sock yarn right now and shouldn’t buy any but it was locally dyed) and yarn made from Yertle and Caesar the Alpacas, Bobbie the Sheep, and Boris and Tula the Camels from the Anchorage Zoo. I’ll be knitting knucks from this wonderful blend. (photos to follow when I get home)
far-north.jpg
We found a Russian Orthodox museum and enjoyed the displays.
icon.jpg
Then found a fantastic place called Sacks for lunch.
sacks.jpg
After lunch we spent a couple of hours at the Anchorage Museum. One of the best I’ve been in in years. There were historical exhibits and art. A large knitted piece, even evil bunnies.

needle-case.jpg

boney-teeth.jpg

eye.jpg

knit-sculpture.jpg

bunny.jpg

Tomorrow we go to Girdwood, a ski town hippy ville. My kind of place!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heideho
    Sep 07, 2007 @ 05:41:34

    You just sold me on wanting a trip to Alaska! The knitting piece reminds me of the giant god’s eyes people made back in the 1970’s. What was your lunch? It looks almost like falafel patties. While on vacation it’s okay to purchase sock yarn… one might even claim that it’s obligatory.

    Reply

  2. Cathy-Cate
    Sep 07, 2007 @ 07:03:49

    Great pics, as always. What a fun LYS! Love ones like that, with local yarn.
    You think the rabbit is evil? Not that I am a big rabbit fan, and I understand you may be traumatized by earlier experiences, but to me that rabbit just looks sad but resigned.

    Reply

  3. Dave Daniels
    Sep 07, 2007 @ 09:06:30

    Wow, this is depressing. You’ve really got me missing the Northwest…

    Reply

  4. Chris
    Sep 07, 2007 @ 19:56:14

    Oh, what cool pictures from the museum! What’s not to love about evil bunnies?! Especially behind glass.

    Reply

  5. Judie
    Sep 08, 2007 @ 09:49:42

    Lovely pics!
    Glad to see you could get a couple rows in on the cable sweater. See ya in class.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

