49th

Graham got up early and drove me to the airport this morning. I had two very nice comfortable legs to my trip to Anchorage. When I landed in Salt Lake City (yes, I had to fly east and south to go north and west), Knitting Hubby called to say that his flight out of Buffalo was running 2 hours late. When I got to Anchorage, Knitting Hubby called to say that Delta didn’t hold the flight for the people rushing to the Anchorage non-stop and that there was a chance that he might not make it here tonight. I almost cried.

So I spent my first day in Anchorage talking to our tour company figuring out whan plans B and C could be depending on when Knitting Hubby got here. Then I went emergency clothes shopping for him cause no telling if his luggage followed him anywhere. For all we know it’s still in Buffalo.

This was one of my plane window views as the clouds broke as we decended into Anchorage.
alaska-12.jpg
When I’d walked around downtown I looked at restaurant menus in windows and decided later to come back to the Snow Goose. It had outside seating and was a brew pub. Seating outside with the view was seat yourself so I lined up in the vulture line. When it was my turn and a table was coming up, a couple maybe a few years younger than I am asked if I was the line and then noticed that it was going to be a long wait for another table to open. So I asked them to join me. They ended up being fantastic table mates and I am so glad they joined me. I had Alaskan Red Crab Legs. YUM
alaska-21.jpg
Just as we were leaving the restaurant the sun set. This is my kind of view!
alaska-3.jpg
Tommorw we take the 250+ mile train ride into Denali Park. Not sure if we’ll have web access. See you when we are back in civilization!

Oh and knitting? I forgot that adventure. Yes I am already on the heel turn of sock one. But the best knitting part of the day was when I was in the SLC airport waiting for my flight. In the waiting area, there was a gentleman seated directly across from me doing Soduku. He glanced up and asked something like “knitting socks on #2’s? YES that takes a skilled eye. We talked and showed each other patterns we were working on until our flight started loading. Ken was from Kodiak, also spins (Louet S-51DT – about as close as you can get to a Lendrum DT), belongs to a crazy knitting group that rents a place (was it once a year or a couple times a year??) for a knitting retreat and reports that Kodiak AK has one LYS (with high prices). So hi Ken! Happy spinning! Then it ended up that my seat partner, though he didn’t knit or spin has lots of friends that do wo we talked different fibers – he has friends that spin dog and quivet and we talked DPNs vs Circs.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Miss T
    Sep 01, 2007 @ 05:17:45

    Amazing people you found along the way. And crab…mmmmm….crab…

    Reply

  2. heideho
    Sep 01, 2007 @ 05:20:31

    Well, other than the obvious missing husband this sounds like a good start to a vacation. You are so darned friendly that it’s no surprise that you find new friends where ever you travel. The pictures of the sunset and the glacier (is that glacier?) are gorgeous and the crab legs look really good. Mmmm. Hope your Dh made it there safely with his luggage.

    Reply

  3. Rae
    Sep 01, 2007 @ 07:38:18

    Wow wow wow! Love the photos! It’s almost like taking the trip through you! The crab looks soo yummy. Congrats to the both of you!

    Reply

  4. Dave Daniels
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 18:17:50

    Beautiful sunset and crab legs, and all in the same post. Lucky you! Enjoy, and can’t wait to see more pics of the trip.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

