Way Way OT

Tonight’s topic is way OT. But the weather channel reminded me of my favorite outhouse in the whole world. Yup outhouse.

There is a terrible storm Hurrican Flossie hitting the south shore of the Big Island of Hawaii. On tonight’s news they showed the 110 mile winds at South Point on Hawaii. Last time I was there in the mid-70’s, we hiked up to the southern most point on South Point. Up there, at the end of the trail was a doorless outhouse. When you sat you looked out over the Pacific, nothing but water till you got to Japan. What a view! Google “south point hawaii” in the images mode for pictures.

My second favorite? The 3 hole outhouse at the house that my Dad was brought up in, in Phelps MN. Two adult height and sized holes and one kid height and diameter. See the picture below? See the white house behind the mill, that is where my Dad lived, my cousins own it now. Outhouse is still standing but out of view. My grandfather ran the country store and taught school.
phelpscountymill12.jpg
We used to inner tube down the Otter Tail River. It was the pits when we’d come upon a farmer’s barbed wire fence strung across the river!

How about you? Any favorites? Now back to my knitting…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 23:08:55

    Um, no outhouse favorites – my favorite outhouse is one I don’t have to use! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Dave Daniels
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 05:48:36

    Um, well…when I was a kid, there was a family that lived in a house up in the wood near us, and they had an outhouse that was there from when the house was built. They had running water for the sink and shower, but toilets were never installed when running water was brought in.
    Thanks for reminding me that I’m older than I thought. (And, for the record, I also remember dial telephones, black and white televisions, Rob and Laura Petry slept in twin beds, and Barbara Eden couldn’t show her belly button on TV in I Dream of Jeannie.)

    Reply

  3. Jennifer
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 06:14:48

    You know, I don’t think I’ve ever used an outhouse. If I ever do, it’d be great to have a view like the first one you described.

    Reply

  4. Miss T
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 07:46:26

    Good story, but no, I don’t have any favorite outhouse memories. I have deliberately avoided outhouses my entire life!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

