Vay Kay Planning

Knitting Hubby and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in May but decided to wait till he was home for a while before making any vacation plans. Coin toss between Paris and Alaska (we honeymooned in Alaska). Not wanting to fly for 20 plus BIS (butt in seat) hours and opting for 8.5 hours of travel time instead we chose Anchorage. Start the countdown clock now, we leave in 4 weeks from tomorrow.
denali.jpg
We’ll have lots of very nice knitting time on this trip. We’ve booked a train trip to Denali Park with stays at two different lodges. And then an additional 4 days in and around Anchorage. Be checking out the couple of knitting stores we spotted on the web.

So what am I thinking of packing? Pair of socks of course, maybe I’ll restart that Graduation Present Ver.11, I’m in the Forest Canopy Shawl mood again but knowing I won’t wear it, I’m not sure if I should start another one. Not sure if Mom would use it as a scarf. Maybe in a month I’ll be done with the carrot cake sweater and can start another. Knitting Hubby bought an Alice Starmore (K.H. loves Alice S.) book “Fishermen’s Sweaters: 20 Exclusive Knitwear Designs for All Generations” and I am really liking the one called the Baltic sweater. I probably will skip the bottom border work since it looks like it will frame my generous butt and gutz.
baltic.jpg
Maybe I’ll even be packing this. The Royal Hare supported spindle. I haven’t decided yet whether or not I’ll get it. Looking for reviews from actual users. Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? Bueller?

Status? You want knitting status? Not much or just slow I guess. I’m on the foot of STR Watermelon Turmeline sock one which should be going faster than they are. I think I am going to give these to Mom as part of her Sept birthday present. I think my next socks will be my pale blue-ish handspun. Maybe those will be my traveling socks.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Miss T
    Aug 02, 2007 @ 12:35:15

    Happy Anniversary! Sounds like an enviably fabulous trip.

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Aug 02, 2007 @ 15:17:54

    Belated happy anniversary – sounds like a great trip!

    Reply

  3. Jeanne
    Aug 03, 2007 @ 01:34:07

    How exciting! Always nice to have a vacation coming up. I have yarn in the stash to make that sweater, but I never got around to it – I can’t wait to see yours progress!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

