Sports Condusive to Knitting

up-on-the-roof.jpg
As i took this picture I was thinking “Why aren’t they knitting?” I went on a long scooter ride today and on the way back watched a heat of the final days of our Water Follies Hydroplane Races. A perfect weekend for knitting. The races start mid-day, with heats about every hour. That means nearly an hour of downtime between races. Most people “hydrate”, but this would be the perfect spectator sport for knitting ’cause you only have to pay attention once an hour.
hydroplane.jpg
My two favorite spectator sports are rodeo and curling. Neither has much down time. Both do have plenty of opportunity for “hydrating”. What are your favorite sports, in person or on tv to knit to?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heideho
    Jul 29, 2007 @ 15:03:02

    That’s crazy for them to be sitting on a peaked roof in lawn chairs! Talk about some die-hard fans. I pretty much knit everywhere, regardless of the sport or other form on entertainment provided. It drives my husband insane… which is part of the reason I do it.

    Reply

  2. kmkat
    Jul 29, 2007 @ 18:48:48

    That looks pretty precarious to me, sitting in a lawn chair on a sloping roof. Potential Darwin Award winners?

    I knit everywhere except behind the wheel and while watching ballet. Everything else is fair game.

    Reply

  3. Cathy-Cate
    Jul 29, 2007 @ 20:20:28

    Hey, I’m a former curler, till our club closed! Guess once a curler, always a curler. The down time while playing the game is minimal, true, but not too bad as a spectator; or afterwards, though the imbibing can affect gauge….
    I’m with the above, I knit EVERYWHERE, but choose easy projects if the sport is fast-paced, or if I’m watching dance or a play. Gymnastics/skating etc. have lots of wait time between the few seconds or minutes of excitement.

    Reply

  4. Jeanne
    Jul 30, 2007 @ 02:00:09

    Crazy to be sitting on a roof on chairs like that! The only sports I watch consistently is golf when my husband has it on – and definitely good for knitting!

    Reply

  5. Cristina
    Jul 30, 2007 @ 08:43:40

    thats hilarious! and curling? i think i’ve heard of it – but i’m not familiar with it.

    my fave sport?
    TV:Synchonized swimming + Figure skating (I wish i was kidding).
    Live: Michigan State Football games.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

