Kat painting contest hint #1

I know that at least one of you is almost to the point of getting ulcers about this contest and she doesn’t even qualify since she won the last one! Hint? You want a hint? mmm let’s see. I could tell you that those that said Durer were really close. The painter painted in the Dutch style but was not Dutch by birth. (it’s OK I don’t know my Dutch painters very well either, probably my weakness)

Lot’s o’ sock knitting this weekend. Iguana Thuja Two is on the home stretch. This one is going to just have 4 giant pools of black, one front and back on the cuff, and it appears, one front and back on the foot. I still love ’em though. And they are coming out iguana-ish. I haven’t touched the carrot cake sweater, Minky Sock one is still a showpiece.

Knitting hubby and I are both fans of the original John Waters 1988 movie Hairspray. We waited just a few days for the possible crowds to die down and went to a mid-afternoon showing yesterday. LOVED IT! The cameos by John Waters (the writer/producer) and Ricki Lake (the original Tracy Turnblad) as a talent agent were a hoot. John Travolta can still bust the moves. Queen Latifah great as ever. And my favorite character this time around? Prudy Pinkleton played by Allison Janney. This is the fun kind of musical I love. I grinned from the opening credits.
aj.jpg

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Miss T
    Jul 23, 2007 @ 11:28:47

    Odd how Hairspray was a movie, then a stage show, then another movie, isn’t it?

    Reply

  2. lisa
    Jul 23, 2007 @ 11:43:13

    You know, I wasn’t sure what I thought about a remake of that movie, seeing as the first was so fun…but knowing John waters and Ricki Lake show up, I’ll see it! I love John Water’s quirky humor, but most of his movies are, well, not for the pg crowd!

    Reply

  3. Chris
    Jul 23, 2007 @ 12:02:01

    Hmm, I’ll randomly guess a painter – Bruegel. There. That’s most of my painterly knowledge. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Cathy-Cate
    Jul 24, 2007 @ 04:50:41

    Lizard Love — I Wanna Iguana Thuja! (or maybe two).
    I am looking forward to seeing Hairspray; and there are usually few current movies I am excited to see. Maybe I won’t even wait for it to come to the cheap theaters!
    I swear I’ve seen the little painted cat, but it’s not coming to me in which painting (it’s beside a girl or woman, I think??)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

