Never give your self a deadline

even if it’s to yourself and no one else knows. Tonight I was working on sleeve one on the carrot cake sweater and as I sat down thought to myself, “oh it will be easy to get this done by the next sweater class (June 21)” . Whammo Zammy. That did it. I’ve been sleeve knitting during the entire Tony Awards tonight and I swear the sleeve is just as long (or short) as it was three hours ago.

We’ve had a little rain on and off this past week and then warm weather so the grass has really greened up. Graham mowed and weed eatered and we pulled weeds and thistles. Looks nice! The flowers in the purple periennial garden are looking great. A few of the sweet pea’s have germinated. The grapes on the back arbor have exploded into lush green leaves and lots of small clusters.

I coached Graham through making paella tonight. Gave him all the basic concepts. How to change it for your budget, how to make it for a crowd, how the things that take the longest to cook go in first, etc. Of course it came out fantastic. I’m going to have him cook and give him a lot of recipes and helpful hints this summer since next fall he’ll be living in an apartment.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Jun 11, 2007 @ 12:43:15

    Gosh, I wanna take your paella class!

    Reply

  2. heideho
    Jun 11, 2007 @ 14:11:55

    Wow, paella is another food which I’ve never tried. Dave posted a picture of a lobster over at his blog and it made me realize that I’ve never actually eaten one before. Will you take pictures of the garden and grapes for us? I’ll bet your sleeve progressed more than you think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

