The big orange rectangle

I’m just about ready to make my decision on my shoulder graft on what looks so far like a big knitted orange rectangle. Three needle bind off or kitchner.mmmmm Decisions decisions. Meanwhile I keep sneaking peaks at the latest Spin-Off magazine. The socks on the cover? Oh oh oh I love them and they make me want to knit a few rows of Monkey. Another write-up about the upcoming Twisted Sisters Sweater Book? I want it NOW.

Announcement:
Famous Jessica is the proud owner of her very “first” (you know how that goes – brrreewwwhahahaha) spinning wheel. She’s been a spindler all this time. Her Lendrum DT arrived today!! Blogless Kim and I were thinking we need to give her a roving shower. (Well then again maybe not since I think Jessica is as much of a roving horder as Kim and I are. Guess it may or may not be a surprise).

Obituary: My year old 30G Video iPod died last night at 10:31 pm. It froze about 3 minutes into Cat’s Let’s Knit Together vcast about Stitches East 2006 (ok so I’m a little behind in my watching). The image froze then a black bar crawled up the image and the screen went black. Dang. I use my iPod all the time. Bad news is that I bought that iPod over a year ago. Good news is I bought it at Costco and I always save every little bit of crap that comes in packaging down to the last little sticker and twist tie. Bad news is Costco now only has a 90 day return window on computers, tv’s and iPods. Good news is, when I got to the return desk and they said well you bought it last year, I said and yes I bought it under the old rules not the new 90 day rule that pertains to NEW purchases. Then they tried to pull the well do you have everything in the box? Yep, I think I may have even accidently thrown in an extra piece or two. So they replaced my iPod. Yeah!!!

Chris -> Day 16: Unlucky misses his 3 friends.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy-Cate
    Jun 07, 2007 @ 05:10:45

    You didn’t really ASK for thoughts about the shoulder — but here’s unsolicited advice anyway!
    Three needle bind off all the way. I have been told, and have experienced it personally, that grafting (Kitchener stitch) isn’t really sturdy enough to support the entire weight of the garment at the shoulder, so it stretches and becomes distorted. The sturdy ‘seam’ made by the three needle bind off helps strengthen and support. And I like the look of grafting very much, but the 3-needle bind off looks good too, and everything lines up perfectly with minimal bulk. (Faster too. Just remember to bind off from the WRONG side to put the ‘seam’ on the inside.)

    That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

    Reply

  2. Cathy-Cate
    Jun 07, 2007 @ 05:11:45

    PS — I have no clues about Unlucky!

    Reply

  3. jessie
    Jun 07, 2007 @ 10:19:59

    Congrats on the replacement iPod. I bought a refurb off eBay and so far (knock, knock) it’s working great. I love that thing!

    Reply

  4. Chris
    Jun 07, 2007 @ 12:02:54

    Very cool about the replacement ipod!!

    Reply

  5. Miss T
    Jun 07, 2007 @ 13:22:54

    Bravo on returning that iPod!

    For the record, I like a real seam on shoulders–it’s sturdier support for the weight of the garment.

    Reply

  6. heideho
    Jun 07, 2007 @ 14:09:01

    Hooray for the successful return… do you want to help me come buy a car? I’m terrible at negotiating and dealing with salesmen or pushy employees. If lucky had friends then I really and truly hope he wasn’t what I thought he was.

    Reply

  7. Rae
    Jun 07, 2007 @ 15:38:30

    Hey good work at Costco! I think that the 3 needle bind off would be best. It will give it more structure. See you tomorrow night!

    Reply

  8. Olga
    Jun 08, 2007 @ 00:44:45

    wow, your goooood. I would of never thought of that clever ‘Perry Masion’isk’ And what about THIS’ kinda final show down. And is unlucky a fish whos buddies got flushed? has that already been said?

    Reply

  9. Jessica
    Jun 09, 2007 @ 00:32:47

    Good job at Costco! You go!

    Roving? What roving? Look over there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

