In my book, a thing of beauty!

I did a double take and a quick u-turn in the street a block from my house. Those of you that know me well, know I LOVE tiny cars.
61-mazda.jpg
She is so beautiful.
mazda61.jpg
This is one of two of these 1961 Mazda’s in the US. The other one was in boxes in the truck hauling the car, and in a van wrapped carefully in plastic and paper. Mazda’s weren’t available until the early ’70’s in the US. The kid (maybe mid-20’s) who had it said his Grandfather and Grandfather’s friend each bought one when they were stationed in Japan in 1961. $725 ea. When their tours were over they had them crated and shipped to the US. This one had spent the past 45 years in Seattle. He was on his way to Utah where he and his wife live, to do the restoration. I’d love to see it when its done. I have more pictures if any of you are as crazy about the 75 mpg vehicle as I am!!!

I cast on for my Monkey Socks this afternoon with the Cabin Cove Summer Campe yarn. Fun Fun Fun!

Chris – Day 5 report: Found out tonight I have no idea what a C&W song is per Kelly at FNKN (Friday Night Knit Night) so someone else is going to have to write the Ballad of Unlucky. Contest will be loaded Monday. And for the record, Unlucky was closer to the building today.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    May 26, 2007 @ 01:36:07

    75 mpg in 1961?! How cool is that??

    Reply

  2. elanknits
    May 26, 2007 @ 02:52:48

    I love all vintage cars, mine is still under reconstruction & will never get 75 mpg.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

