Have I Told You Lately That I Love You?

The Rod Stewart or Van Morrison versions only. Not the peanut butter bacon mayo banana sandwich guy version. Anyway the subject matter is my almost done pair of handspun socks! The ones I started knitting this past weekend in Packwood. I’d split the roving in half lengthwise and when I plied I started with the yellow against the yellow so the colors pretty much matched all the way down in the ply with out having to Navaho ply. I knew that I’d have “mismatched” socks that way. And I love them sooooo much. As you could see in the photos from last weekend, sock #1 starts with a yellow cuff, orange/yellow/splashes of red thru blue/green on the heel and part of the foot then ends with lilac on the toe. Sock two takes up where sock one leaves off. Lilac cuff to pale green to a little more lilac at the heel gussett. I’m now knitting in a soft blue section with a tiny bit of pink that will end in a lavendar toe. And soft! Did I mention how soft these are? And my modern math experiment worked. On sock #1 I started the heel flap when I’d used 18 grams out of the total 54 grams of single (109 grams total) and had a little less than 2 yards left. Genius or lucky. One of the two.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    May 09, 2007 @ 19:34:57

    They sound great!!

    Reply

  2. Dave Daniels
    May 09, 2007 @ 21:52:28

    Yay for the modern math!
    Now, the pics???

    Reply

  3. heideho
    May 10, 2007 @ 00:53:12

    You are a genius for calculating out your yarn like you did. Now… where are the pictures?

    Reply

  4. Judie
    May 10, 2007 @ 02:19:40

    Yeah, where are the pics? Will we see them on Fri. night?

    Reply

  5. Jessica
    May 10, 2007 @ 02:33:24

    Genius of course! But now we need the pics.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

