Fantasy island spinning

My experts (those that did not flunk algebra) tell me I’ll have at this rate 427.825 yards of DK-ish yarn from my polworth/alpaca/angora blend. So I was flippin’ through the library last night to see what I could do with it. Scarf of course but knitting hubby keeps me in extra good supply of handknit scarfs, some sort of shoulder shawl, cushy socks, hat and mitten set. A trip to fantasy island saw the yarn as knit up beautifully into a sweater if I only had 3 X as much. And if it was bulky. Take a look at this beauty!
moss.jpg
That’s the Moss Stitch Jacket by Sarah Dallas in the Scottish Inspirations book. Someone (Kim, Nancy, Jessica, Knitting Hubby) said that as soon as I completed my tweed sweater I was going to turn into a bonafide sweater junky. Something like how pot addiction leads to heroin, sock addiction leads to sweater. mmm yup, it’s possible.

This sweater has all the elements I like. Would fall right to my hip without binding my @$$, no buttons so no button band (I’d have GB make me a closure), bit of an open collar, raglan sleeves, 3 stitches to the inch. Whoa boy, you got me at the 3 stitches to the inch. Now to pick out some bulky!!
donegal-chunky-tweed.jpg
Donegal Chunky Tweed
ecowool03.jpg
Eco Wool
malabrigo-chunky.jpg
Malabrigo Chunky
rowan-soft-tweed.jpg
RYC Soft Tweed

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Apr 25, 2007 @ 15:59:14

    Oh, it would be tasty in Malabrigo but would probably pill like crazy, alas.

    Reply

  2. heideho
    Apr 26, 2007 @ 02:47:00

    I LOVE this pattern. It would definately be one of those sweaters that would be used lots and be comfortable to wear.

    Reply

  3. Jessica
    Apr 28, 2007 @ 17:49:47

    Have you reached any decisions yet?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

