Falling apart at the seams

Not me this time. Knitting hubby. Friday by 9am I was celebrating my almost 3 day weekend. The weather man said it was going to be great all three days. No sooner had I gone thru the front door when knitting hubby called me with the news that he was headed to the emergency ward at Kadlec Medical Center and to meet him there. He said he woke up feeling funny, his face felt funny and he thought he may have had a mild stroke. I said to him maybe it’s “only” Bell’s Palsy. So I raced over to find him in emergency room 20. Where 3-4 nurses and 2 docs said they weren’t sure if it was a mini stroke or Bell’s. Took them about 4 hours to send him up to a room. Ran blood panel, MRI, CAT, EKG, EEG, EIEIO – seems like every test that was called by some acronym. No Feline Friday or Saturday sky since I hung out in the hospital all day both days.

Well two days and one night and the best the neurologist can figure is Bell’s Palsy so that is what they are treated him for. I guess that is the good news. Oh that and we both knitted for 2 days. One more sock 2 is half way down the heel flap. It’s the crazy grape and yellow/turq/blue/lilac hand dyed hand spun pair.
sock-close.jpg
So knitting hubby is home, feeling fine, looking a bit funky. Thanks for the phone calls and messages asking about him!! (and blogless Kim, I knew it was you from your voice 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dave Daniels
    Apr 08, 2007 @ 23:18:44

    Oh, I hope he is feeling better now. That’s so scary when someone says to meet them at the emergency room.

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Apr 09, 2007 @ 00:18:22

    I’m glad it sounds like he’s doing better – how scary for both of you!

    Reply

  3. heideho
    Apr 09, 2007 @ 01:19:46

    I’m so sorry to hear about your husband’s illness and for the worry both of you must have been and still are feeling. I hope this will be an isolated incident and that he will be well. Let him know that if he just wanted a weekend to knit that he only needed to ask, measures this drastic weren’t necessary. You both take care.

    Reply

  4. jessie
    Apr 09, 2007 @ 10:11:59

    I missed this post before. Glad to hear hubby is okay. My only experience with Bell’s Palsy is that a co-worker had it once and the only factor the doctor could come up with was that she kept a fan by the side of her face blowing on her all night, every night, and he suggested that maybe it had overstimulated her facial nerves or something. I suspect it had nothing to do with anything.

    Does your husband look like Sylvester Stallone? Ah, it will pass.

    Reply

  5. Em
    Apr 09, 2007 @ 19:50:02

    Hi there — found you post through the “tag surfer” feature, and just wanted to give you a bit of an e-hug. I happen to know (pretty-much) what you’re going through: a month or so ago my own husband was complaining of a “tingly” lip on night, and by the next day his eye wouldn’t close and his right side has fallen… He does have Bell’s palsy, and sadly while it hasn’t cleared up in the hoped-for three weeks, but he has gotten much better. I try to keep up hope that in a year he’ll be “normal” again (so sayeth his neurologist), but I’ll love him no matter what.

    Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that you’re not alone here, as at least one other knitter nigh-on finished a pair of socks stress-knitting through the wait at emergency… Best of wishes to both of you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

