GS

Gauge swatchin’. Everyones favorite. With April 12 approaching I figured I’d better get in gear and get my GS done for my up coming sweater class and have it checked by Jima-Lee this afternoon. I need 17.5 st/4 “on US7-8’s. My choosen yarn is Classic Elite Skye Tweed. Rated at 20 on US7s and 16 on US8’s right there on their website. Well you know where this is going. After saying to myself “Oh I could get used to this fast knitting on 8’s!”, I counted and was getting 13 st/4 in. Dang. Dang. Dang. Not even close. Started again on 7’s. You guessed it. Dang. Dang. Dang. Started this morning on 6’s. I’m letting the sample relax and I’ll will measure in a couple of hours. Dang.

So far I really like the Skye Tweed. I’d been looking for something to knit the She Gansey from No Sheep. I went out on a limb and bought and picked out a color that is not in my safety zone. MacAlister orange. 4th one from the left.
skyetweed-macalister.jpg
I haven’t knitted a sweater since (mumble mumble mumble early 1990 something). But I am getting back into the mood/swing of things. If this sweater is a success (meaning I haven’t gone crazy in the process) I already have my second one picked out. The Sienna Cardigan from IKF06. I’ve been warned that it will start a whole new addiction and instead of spending my yarn money $20-25 at a time, it will be $80-150 at a time. Great. Anyone done this one yet?
siennacardi01.jpg

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heideho
    Apr 06, 2007 @ 15:12:21

    I love the yarn and the pattern. Have fun swatching! I’ve never made this pattern and can offer absolutely no help whatsoever, but I’ll cheer you on just the same.

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Apr 06, 2007 @ 15:43:33

    Sneaky swatches. Good luck – it looks like a nice sweater.

    Reply

  3. Rae
    Apr 06, 2007 @ 15:51:38

    Welcome to the world of sweaters…. once you walk through those doors~ you won’t want to turn back!

    Reply

  4. Keanalee
    Apr 06, 2007 @ 15:54:39

    Yeah, you’ll definitely spending more benjamins if you do sweaters, but it’s soooo worth it.

    Reply

  5. Jen the Knittingspaz
    Apr 12, 2007 @ 16:54:46

    I’ve made this sweater and I subbed Plymouth Suri Merino mostly because it was what I had on hand. It turned out great, but the suri merino pills at the gauge I knit it in (18 sts/4″) and that gauge is not the specified gauge in the pattern which is fine because I was between sizes. I posted about it on my blog last fall.

    Anyway, if you’re careful and watch out for sales, you might not have to spend $80-$150 for the yarn. Definitely more than if you were making socks, but at least you get more knitting time on that project.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

