Believe me, I tried

I tried to knit from my stash but somehow over the weekend the stash grew instead of getting smaller. You saw the yarns that Keana sent me. I’ve decided that the green/yellow colorway will be called “spring is sprung”.
springsprung.jpg
Then I made the really bad mistake of cruising Etsy on Saturday night and between the photos and the most excellent description of the colorway just had to order this yarn. “Color: Goldfinch – bright citrus beak, yellow belly and dark brown feathers in a periwinkle sky”
goldfinch1.jpg
Then knitting hubby came home yesterday afternoon from 2 weeks in Washington DC where he seems to have spent a lot of time in Stitches DC. It’s almost looking like Starbucks in the DC area but instead of coffee, a knitting shop on every corner. There are tons now. When we lived there 15 years ago there were maybe 3 -4 shops, one in Cabin John, one in Bethesda, one or two downtown. Oh and I think one in old town Alexandria.

So when knitting hubby unpacked last night I got to open pressies. Two oil pastel paintings – really cool. Plus yarnage. two skeins of Claudia’s Handpainted in Just Plum and four skeins of a fantastic rich green yarn (feels like cashmerino but a different brand. I’ll update post when I get home and remember what it is) to knit Backyard Leaves from Scarf Style.
just-plum.jpg

I have 2 inches to go on my Rusted Boomerang socks before I cast off. Maybe tonight. I have my gauge swatch to do for my She Gansey sweater that I’ll be knitting for a class and I’ve promised my self more spinning time. I have Liz Cowdery’s angora/alpaca/wool blend on the wheel right now and and and oh no, I want to go home and spin on it right now! I have about 24 oz of a lavender to deep purple romney/mohair blend I bought from her last year yet to spin. Super Yum.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LaDonna
    Apr 02, 2007 @ 16:58:40

    Aren’t you lucky! A hubby that buys you yarn? Mine just about has a cow when I bring home a stray skein.

    Love love love the Goldfinch! Inspired naming, I must say. I bought some Atacama Alpaca named #515. Booooor-iiiing.

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Apr 02, 2007 @ 23:00:23

    Is that the Claudia’s in the last picture? WOW. You have him well trained! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

