The dreaded PPPUPL syndrome

I’m so glad that me knitting the MagKnits fake isle hat has inspired some of you to want to also. I was inspired by my knitting friend Rae when she brought hers to our Friday Night Knit Night. I’m within 6 or so rows of completing mine. It will take a good blocking to get the top of the hat – hat shaped. I think I have found the appropriate bowl to accomplish that.

My inspiration is coming from the latest issue of Spin-Off. Some months I get it, skim through, yawn, ho-hum. Something about this Spring issue has me feeling good. Is it the socks on the cover?
spinoffspring.jpg
Is it the fact that our very own Jessica stars in this issue? Jessica’s spindle spun organic yarn is one of the samples in this issue. Yea!!! I sat down last night, didn’t read but skimmed the entire issue and felt satisfied when done. Sounds crazy I know. Love the Queen of Diamonds socks. Just need to rewrite them a little for top downs. I even have the yarn for them I think. Some Lorna’s Laces in the Vera colorway. Some how on purpose I bought sock yarn with PINK in it. I don’t know how it happened but I was drawn to it. Those of you that know me know that I do not do pink on purpose. Pinkish color is usually a byproduct of some hand dyeing gone bad.
ss-vera.jpg
I am going to make sure I slowly work through the “workshop” on double drafting in this issue. I need more boing in my singles. The PomPom Bunny would make cute cat toys. The pattern for the the Serendipity Heart Hat is cute though I don’t like their colors at all and I don’t wear hats. The article on Get your Hackles up was very very nice. I have Deb Menz’s Color in Spinning book but this article really brings it all home. Oh and the men’s handspun hand woven jacket is to die for. See, a very satisfying Spring 2007 issue for me.

Please send good vibes to Dave at Cabin Cove. He and Miss Lulu are suffering greatly from the dreaded PPPUPL (“Paved Paradise and Put Up a Parking Lot”) syndrome. I just can’t believe what has happened to their view. I am so sad.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Mar 21, 2007 @ 17:54:56

    I love Kristi’s cover socks – looking forward to picking up this issue!

    Reply

  2. Cristina
    Mar 21, 2007 @ 18:15:17

    fake isle = you may have inspired me too
    yarn = beautiful
    cabin cove = terribly sad.

    Reply

  3. Dave Daniels
    Mar 22, 2007 @ 00:14:21

    Oh, yeah, I still have several back copies to get caught up on. Thanks for the reminder. And thank you for the sympathy. We’ve been sitting here all evening trying to come up with a solution. (Or an easy way to win lots of money…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

