Diagnosis: Full of $#!+

What an evening I’ve had. Hubby Dave and I had a nice leisurely afternoon out. We went to the antique show at the mall. Only thing we came home with was a little watercolor landscape. Not much else even tempted us. Well maybe just that nice table loom but I was strong. Strong because I haven’t warped my Rasmussen in about 7-8 years. Ran into a couple different friends that we hadn’t talked to lately, good to see them. Then headed over to our favorite taco truck in Pasco for dinner. We hadn’t been there for 4-5 months and they said they thought we’d moved away or something!

When we got home we greeted all the cats in out customary way, head scritches and pets if they greet us at the door and pets and loves if they are sleeping somewhere. Rufus was laying on his pillow on the ottoman, Dave mentioned that was odd. Odd because that’s where Dave puts Rufus when Dave is trying to knit! Rufus usually doesn’t go there on his own.

Dave picked up Rufus for upsidedown loves and Rufus screamed in pain! So Dave put him down and picked him up real gentley and Rufus screamed again. We couldn’t find anything on the outside that would cause the pain so I call the Saturday Pet Emergency number and they got us right in.

X-rays revealed that Rufus has a lower intestine/colon blockage and the Dr was pretty sure that it was from the Science Diet Senior that the practice we usually go to said all 3 cats needed to be on. Well that’s a pisser since I just opened the most recent $30 a bag food a few days ago. Makes me not like Dr X at where we usually go even more. I like the regular Dr. but this other person at the practice…I just don’t like her exam table manner. The emergency vet I had tonight I loved!!! Anyway, Mr Rufus is spending the night in the hospital, hooked up to extra fluids and getting an emema or two this evening. Xrays also revele that Rufus has osteoarthritis at the base of his tail.

Emergency vet lady said to change everyone back to regular cat food again, something with fat in it! And Rufus should even have what the vet called “some good ol’ cheap ass canned cat food” until his GI tract gets back in order. Then add Libby pumpkin pie filling and beans to his diet. Rufus loves beans so that will be easy.

More news tomorrow when I pick him up from the kitty cat hospital.

Ok I am going to go knit now.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Mar 11, 2007 @ 04:51:44

    Oh no!!! Poor Rufus. Owie. 😦 I hope he’s better really soon. Canned pumpkin really does the trick – Chaos loves it. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Cristina
    Mar 11, 2007 @ 09:18:41

    thats sooo sadd:( poor kitty…

    Reply

  3. jessie
    Mar 11, 2007 @ 11:17:00

    Ah, this happens to my 15yo cat all the time ($$$). He is now forbidden to eat dry food, which is unfortunate because he prefers it to canned and yesterday I caught him eating dog kibble from the yellow Lab’s bowl. (I sneak him some dry every now and then for his teeth, anyway.)

    It’s no fun to get old and full of #@%^.

    Reply

  4. Dave Daniels
    Mar 11, 2007 @ 13:24:16

    Oh, poor baby. I hope he’s going to be ok. Sometimes you have to wonder if that stuff is really good for the kids, or does the profit dictate? I had a bag of it, and Miss Lulu wouldn’t have anything to do with it. (I donated it to a woman who works at the shelter.)
    Keep us posted.

    Reply

  5. kim in oregon
    Mar 11, 2007 @ 17:50:39

    Poor Rufus. Wow, you’d think the fancy schmancy food would be much better. We had our old kitties on Science Diet too, but never had these problems. We know feed the cats Wellness Brand, again ridiculously expensive but it seems to work OK. I hope Rufus is better soon.

    Canned pumpkin is great, I give it to Louise (rabbit) when she needs a little clean-through.

    Cody and Shasta (dogs) send Rufus and you their bets. And yes you can be in love with them (I asked).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

