Even my hair hurts

First thanks to all of you that sent me birthday wishes! And Cristina I hope you celebrated good with my twin sister! Am I the older twin or the younger one? I was born at 5 something pm Pacific time.

Well biz trip went well. Dave, I’ll post my view of your old hood as soon as I get to downloading. The office building I was in had a marvelous view of Lake Union and the Center for Wooden Boats. (across the street from the ex-Adriatica restaurant for you Seattle folks). Had a great time with Graham for two evenings. Wednesday we went to the Wasabi Bistro for dinner. My favorite? The Seattle Tempura Roll. So yum! Thursday night my working team and Graham went to our Progam Manager’s home for dinner. What a dinner and what a house! They live in a mid-century modern home in Burien. It is so lovely and I really fell in love with it. Maybe because it reminded me of the mid-century modern I lived in when I was brought up in the area. Theirs was a different style but a lot was reminiscent, like the fireplace, the use of wood etc. And what was really bizarre was they had the same built in storage with the same colored slidding doors that I’d had in my bedroom.

So anyway, you might want to hear why my hair hurts? And why you haven’t seen me blogging or even reading your blogs? Too much birthday partying went on? Wrong guess. I’d been suffering from a nasty backache between my shoulder blades since mid last week. If it hadn’t gone away by Monday I was going to my chiropractor, that vert goes out once in a while. If it hadn’t been for the marvelous memory foam mattress in my hotel I would’t have been able to sleep. Saturday I felt fantastic, the sun was out, I ran errands and did some general fun running about on my scooter. Nice fresh air.

Woke up feeling like crap on Sunday. No appetite – which is really strange for me. I mean really. I can eat thru the flu. I showered and when I put in my contacts (I’m blind without them) I noticed I had a rash that was in line with my vertebra. that I thought was out. You guessed it. The shingles. Double crap. No, call that triple crap. Pain too. So I went to the local emergency clinic and got it confirmed that I didn’t have the flu and did have the shingles. Sent home with some meds. And no pain management.

By yesterday I was in so much pain that it hurt to do anything. Even knit or blog. Or walk. When I walked it felt like I had no disks between my vertebra. Every joint hurt like I’d been run over by a, well something big. And even my hair hurt. So back to the clinic where I got a different doctor. And thank goodness. This guy cared, told me about 300 times more stuff than the first guy and told me that the only two types of patients he doen’t quibble with about pain management are cancer patients and shingles patients. He sent me home with a completely differnt set of meds including vicoden. I had to take two to get things under control and am maintaining with a half dose every 6 hours. I am out of Grey’s Anatomy reruns to watch and am sick of daytime tv today (first day of tv watching and I’m sick of it already) I am going to attempt some knitting today and try to go to work for a while tomorrow. I get restless real fast!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heideho
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 02:47:30

    Sorry to hear your not feeling well. I hope the Vicadin keeps you going until the shingles clear up. Cheers!

    Reply

  2. Kaitie Tee
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 03:06:27

    Oh no that’s the worst! I hope you get better soon!

    Reply

  3. Chris
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 04:46:37

    Oh no!!!! I don’t know anything about shingles – how long do they go on??

    Reply

  4. Cristina
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 04:58:31

    i’m so sorry about your shingles!!! saaaaad:(
    i’ve heard about how painful they can be…
    i hope you feel better.
    p.s.your twin was born at 11am…your free to be the older bossy sis if you want to be:)

    Reply

  5. Kim
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 16:52:19

    Oh my stars, I’m so sorry about the shingles…we will have to keep an eye on you. I think you are the third person in the Friday Night Knit group to have it. Please take it easy, think of the children who must be so worried. Of course I’m referring to Rufus, Ruby, and the lovely Rosemary. Kim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

