Puddle jumper air

For some silly reason I like to fly in small prop planes rather than the biggies. Just always been that way. Maybe it’s because when I first flew and got those little stewardess wings (metal back then) and got to pass out gum to passengers, I was riding around in DC6’s, 7’s and Convairs. So I was thrilled to find that I’d be flying over to Seattle and back on a DHC-8. High wing, 2 props, and it must have had foam rubber for wheels. Unlike the big ol’ jets, when we took off and landed you couldn”t feel that we’d left the ground or landed without lookng out the window. My only arguement is that the overhead lighting was absolute crap. No knitting for me. Not enough light to read. Good thing the wine was complementary!

Had a great dinner at the Wasabi Bistro. I’d never asked Tami, who joined Graham and I for dinner, if she ate makimono. They have a great list of sushi rolls and unlike most people I know, she jumped right in with both feet and said she was up to try anything on the menu. Yeah for Tami!!!!

Our hotel is nice, lake on one side, view of the Space Needle and Cabin Cove Dave’s old neighborhood on the other. Tomorrow starts our two days of meetings. Probably capped with a martini fest in Burien. Ok maybe some knitting. And I get to meet the little girl I knitted the hat and mitten set for Christmas! (see there was knitting content)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dave Daniels
    Feb 15, 2007 @ 11:46:15

    That sounds like a fun flight. (There are times you just can’t/shouldn’t knit.) I love taking the small planes down to Cape Cod from Boston, it’s so fast. And they are fun, and intimate.
    Boy, I sure could use some tourist time is Seattle right about now. I miss the craft fairs and casual atmosphere.

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Feb 15, 2007 @ 23:30:45

    Oh, it sounds wonderful already!! And it sounds like you need one of those headlamps for emergencies…

    Reply

  3. heideho
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 14:37:22

    Hope you find lots of fibery stores in the Seattle area. Mmmm, sushi and sashimi rock. Have fun.

    Reply

  4. Cristina
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 09:48:30

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

