Twenty Four not to be confused with 24

a.k.a. Elisa’s Challenge. The last twenty four hours have been pretty typical.

I try to be at work by 7-O-something each morning. I”m usually the first or second person in the building. I work till 5pm and then only have to come in a few hours on Friday, giving me a day to visit our LYS’s and relax.

When Hubby Dave is on travel he calls my office every morning right before he goes to lunch. So that call comes in at 9,10 or 11 depending on what time zone he is in. I get restaurant reviews and knitting progress reports!

Since it’s been grey out, and it’s usually pretty grey here all winter, I’m loading greyscale copies of yesterday’s photos. Here is the view heading south on George Washingon Way from my office around noon.
noon-grey.jpg
I try not to eat lunch until after 1 or 1:30 so my afternoons seem shorter. I was hungry for Chinese take out yesterday so I called ahead to Mandarin House.
130-pm-grey.jpg
If I actually make it out of the building for lunch, I like to spend the time next to the river. I usually take a short walk, look at birds and then eat.
145-pm-grey.jpg
I drag my feet back to the office. I sit in front of a computer all day, working on two different assignments.
330pm-grey.jpg
I’d been wanting to go see the movie “The Queen” since NPR had pretty good reviews of it. A quick Fandango check said 7 pm. So I had a bit of time to kill. Stopped by LYS#1, chatted with Lin for a while then headed home. Knitted a few sock rounds and stared at my Norwegian mittens. Decided the tinking will have to wait until Thursday night. I have to put big tape reminders on my mitten so I won’t mix up the front from the back – like that’s going to happen when the palm work is so different from the back of the hand? Sure.
1030pm-grey.jpg
We can go 2-3 years without seeing a movie in a theater. So this is atypical. This was the third time in the past year. A record. Dave and I had seen “Little Miss Sunshine” and whatever the last Pirates of the Caribbean movie was. I was a little early so I was able to do more sock rounds in the half light of the theater. Completely empty except for me until the previews were over and two women came in and sat 4-5 rows behind me. Don’t you know it, they talked through the entire movie. If they hadn’t have been there I was going to request that the over head lights be kept on a little so I could continue to knit while I watched. Wouldn’t that have been fun? The entire megaplex was pretty much deserted and it was pretty surreal.
925pm-grey.jpg
When I got home I still didn’t feel like fooling with tinking so I watched my Grey’s Anatomy DVDs, trying to catch up with season 2. Alarm went off my usual time this morning, checked temp outside (37°F), got ready and headed to work. Stopped by my favorite Tri-Cities latte place for a large cuppa coffee. I was third in line. I never mind waiting at May’s.
645a-grey.jpg
And my weekday cycle starts all over again. Don’t I lead an interesting life? About the only thing you missed is that I talk to my cats when I’m at home alone. Yup, crazy cat person. But aren’t you all too?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elisa
    Feb 08, 2007 @ 16:43:27

    Wow – I love your pictures – the picture of the Chinese restaurant is particularly interesting. Very noir! 🙂 Thanks for posting this and thanks for playing along!

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Feb 08, 2007 @ 23:47:37

    The greyscale pictures are soo cool! Your life is probably more exciting than my life. 😀

    Reply

  3. Rae
    Feb 09, 2007 @ 04:43:37

    you aren’t the only one that leads a boring life in this desert with grey skys! miss ya and the gang. wrestiling is dominating friday nights at the moment though.

    Reply

  4. Cristina
    Feb 09, 2007 @ 05:58:28

    i love the black & white shots…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

