Bass Ackwards

How could I totally forget to tell you about Saturday? Knitting Hubby Dave and I took a class at Sheep’s Clothing from Judie. The class was on how to do the Lizard Ridge pattern. Yes-sir-ree bob, we learned how to knit backwards! I don’t want to do the LR pattern, I just wanted to learn the skill and it was sooooooooooooooooo easy once I got it down. That and W&T’s. Funny how you can knit like forever and if you skip all the patterns that have even one mention of a W&T you can get along pretty well. Now I’ll be searching for those lovelys. And purling? If it’s a wrong side row of just purls, you’ll never catch me doing those again. Knitting bass ackwards is now my favorite.

What was really cool was there were 5 of us in the class including Nancy. And somehow Nancy (of Atomic Fireball socks fame) and I were knitting at the very same rate, stitch per stitch. She’d come to a part and ask a question just as I was about to and vis versa. And we ended our last row at the very same time. Are we too cool or what!

Yesterday after a leisurely breakfast at a local restaurant, Dave left for a few days in Washington DC. After dropping him off I ran a few errands, somehow forgetting to stop at either of our LYS’s. I had scootering on my mind! I got home to a dead scooter battery and the kick start was rather stuborn so I hooked up the trickle charger for a bit. Then off I went, making sure to ride safe in any areas that looked wet or dark pavement as it was 35° out. Almost thought of calling a few of my scootering friends to meet them for coffee but they seem to be a little wimpy when it comes to cold weather riding. When I started running out of good light, I returned home to my knitting and the skinny lacey gold scarf I am doing for Graham’s beautiful girlfriend. Did I remember to take a picture of it in natural sunlight this weekend. Duh. No.

And thanks a lot everyone. Somehow I got in the mood to knit mittens. (Yes I’m talking about you Jessie and you Dave!) For myself for once. I am holding back and not starting any until I get some of my other UFO’s FO’d. Please quit posting about mittens.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cristina
    Jan 22, 2007 @ 18:14:34

    no you gotta tackle entrelac!! you’ll love it if your comforatable knitting bass ackwards.

    Reply

  2. trek
    Jan 22, 2007 @ 21:06:29

    Um, did you happen to see my post today? ;o)

    Reply

  3. Dave Daniels
    Jan 23, 2007 @ 11:47:01

    What??? What’d I do? Mittens are good. We NEED mittens. Life would be less without them. YOU NEED MORE MITTENS:)

    Reply

  4. Chris
    Jan 23, 2007 @ 14:40:16

    I need a refresher on knitting backwards!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

