Sad News

I just got off the phone with my brother Steve. He called to tell me that his mother in law Bette passed away a little before 6 pm Denver time. She suffered a massive stroke on December 17 and had been on life support ever since. Barb, Steve’s wife is taking it pretty well so far but Mac, Barb’s Dad isn’t. They’d been married I think close to 60 years. For some reason I always look to see who has passed within about 3 days before and after and figure they’ll all be in line somewhere together. So Bette will be able to visit with Gerald Ford at the very least. And as I was reminded by Michaele, be entertained by James Brown. I had only met Bette a few times, when i saw her on my Denver trip last September it had been at least 25 years since the last time I talked to her.

Dave took Graham back to school today. About the time Dave was going to go over Snoqualmie Pass, there was an avalanche closing both lanes. Dave was sooooo happy to have his new video iPod filled with music and concert videos. He said it really helped pass the time while he knitted while he waited in the traffic (while he still had light). He was at a standstill for about 2 hours, 4 miles from the avalanche.

I have sock progress, I’d casted on the Leopard socks a few nights ago. This was my first foray into Claudia’s handpainted. It is the most delicate sock yarn I have ever used. I think they’ll be early fall socks.
claudias2.jpg

I just checked on the dryness of my romney. Yup dry, time to skein and show you my first FO for 2007. Yes I believe us spinners consider yardage as FO’s don’t we!?!?!
romney-117.jpg

This picture is just for Michaele or anyone else that wants to see that the back of Emily’s head looks like the back of Ruby’s head. Ruby first then Emily. Ruby was real happy that I was chasing her around for this photo.
rubyshead1.jpg
emilyhead.jpg

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. michaele
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 03:31:52

    Even better than Gerald Ford – she’ll get to meet the hardest working man in show business!!
    I think that’s a wonderful way to think about the loved ones we’ve lost. I wish you and your family the best right now – this must be a hard time.

    Reply

  2. kim in oregon
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 04:08:28

    This is always a hard time to lose someone. My sympathies to you and yours.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, and yes, the chocolate square is brand new. I’m always on the lookout for new chocolate.

    Reply

  3. Jeanne
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 10:08:12

    Sympathies to you and your family. The romney looks really good, and of course new yarn counts as FO’s!

    Reply

  4. Chris
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 17:28:08

    Sorry to hear about your family’s loss…

    Reply

  5. Heide
    Jan 04, 2007 @ 00:31:55

    I am so sorry to hear about the death in your family. It always seems harder during the holiday season too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

