Good thing I showed up

I’ve been at work 2 hours and just got this email. Good thing I showed up since I work for the lab!

“Last week, President George W. Bush declared today a National Day of Mourning to honor former President Gerald R. Ford. The President issued an Executive order to close federal offices and excuse all federal employees from duty for the scheduled workday, except those who cannot be excused for reasons of national security, defense, or other essential public business.

The Department of Energy and its offices are closed. However, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory will remain for business as usual.”

Though I would love to be home just knitting away. Dave and Graham’s beautiful girlfriend Rachel are driving Graham back to SU this morning. I’m going to miss having Graham around the house, not that he was there much… He probably won’t be home until summer.

I skeined and washed the last of my charcoal romney handspun last night. It’s on the drying rack. I’ll gauge swatch and will see if it matches the romeny from the same bump I spun a few months ago. Hope so, so it can go towards the same (yet to be determined) project. So soft and cushy. Then back to spinning the Zoe and Chloe romney bumps from Thorpe WA.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cristina
    Jan 04, 2007 @ 04:24:47

    thats sad:(
    but also heart warming to hear that she lived a full life & 60 year marriage!
    she will be safe with Gerald, James Brown as well as James Kim.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

