Realization

Yes I came to the realization last night that I have this new WordPress blog site and I’ve posted no fiber related content since the 22nd and that didn’t contain any pictures. So let’s see. Pictures will be posted as soon as the sun comes up so I can take them (out in the rain).

Christmas was uneventful at our place. Nice, comfortable, laid back just the way we like it. We don’t have any relatives within a couple thousand miles so it’s just us and the tree. Rachel (Graham’s beautiful girlfriend), Jared (Graham’s best friend) and Graham are doing a lot of quality hanging around time. And if it’s not just them it’s hanging with their tight knit group of 6-8 that have been together for years. Some kind of get together about every other night. Graham will be the first to go back to school (Jan 2) followed by Jared (Jan 9) and Rachel sometime the week after that. Graham upgraded Rachel’s webcam for Christmas so they get a better view of each other 2800 miles away.

For Graham, who has always been a gourmet cook, a lot of friends gave him chef type gifts this year. Jared put together a sushi making gift box, Rachel gave him things like truffle honey, others gave him store gift certificates. The most wickedly fun one this year was a copy of
Plush-o-Rama: Curious Creatures for Immature Adults
from Rachel’s sister. plush-0-rama.jpg

It was fun to be able to do nothing but knit or spin for days. I spun up about 350 yards of what I hope to be sock yarn. It’s funny looking in the skein, I haven’t swatched it yet but I think it will be fun. (no WPI report yet either but I think it averaged worsted weight). I also finished up the Sea Turtle socks and worn them a couple times. Very warm and soft. Of course the pictures that Graham took are still in his camera. Grrrr. And by last night I was about 3.5 inches from the toe decrease on Elderberry sock number 2.

Santa got me something from the top of my wish list – a Woolee Winder!! I’ve only done a few yards so far and it is going to take a bit to get used to and in the grove with but I can tell already I am going to love it.
woolee-winder1.jpg
Plus a copy of Victorian Lace Today.victorian-lace1.jpg
And some other knitting related presents.

Dave gave me the other present from the top of my wish list – a MacBook. Of course you remember that I treated myself to a used iBook last spring, but this is the latest and greatest! So readers, if any of you are interested in purchasing the iBook before I put it up on ebay, drop me a line and I’ll send specs and price. macbook1.jpg
I gave Dave a video iPod and Santa gave him a portable hard drive. Graham is busy copying all the music off my iPod (because Dave likes my selections better than the ones he has on his ancient 3rd generation iPod) and will load it to Dave’s.

I’ll be loading the yarn and sock pics later this morning. I promise!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Dec 27, 2006 @ 16:10:11

    The one thing I can tell you about WordPress.com blogs – make sure you resize your pictures and don’t load the big picture file directly off the camera. You only get a certain amount of space with the free blogs and “raw” pictures can fill it up quicklly!

    Looks like you must have been very good this year – fun!

    Reply

  2. jessie
    Dec 27, 2006 @ 18:02:08

    I had a similarly relaxing holiday with one big exception: my daughter is still a bit young to allow me a day to knit or spin to my heart’s content. That will come in time, and I will miss these mother-daughter moments, I’m sure.

    I’m glad you had a nice Christmas.

    Reply

  3. Dave Daniels
    Dec 28, 2006 @ 02:06:21

    I’ve been wanting a Woolie, but don’t know anyone who has one. So, I’ll be paying attention. Please be sure to post some progress pics while you use it.
    And nice assortment of gadgets you have in you house. I’m a PC kinda guy, and finally got a Zune for music and videos. LOVE having portable music. And I’ve recorded about 20 of my DVDs already. Can you say ADDICTION???

    Reply

  4. Heide
    Dec 28, 2006 @ 15:48:43

    The plied yarn you spun is gorgeous. Mixing the purple with the canary really made it beautiful. The Canary wasn’t bad, but the yellow was a bit strong by itself. I don’t know what a woolie is, but if it’s knitting or spinning related it has to be good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

