Still fiber arting with a little bread baking mixed in!!!

photo.JPG

Like I need to be baking and eating bread….I’ve been wanting to get back into bread baking for quite a while. GB gave me a copy of Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes for Christmas! It took me three batches of the master recipe, with helpful hints from GB before I was happy with the outcome. Not 100% happy, but at least the loaves weren’t hockey pucks.

My goal was to “master” the master recipe and then find a recipe for Poulsbo bread that I could tweak till it satisfied me. Poulsbo quickly became my favorite store bought bread when I moved back to Washington state (ahem, many years ago). The old recipe that the Sluys’ developed. Not the gunky garbage tasting Poulsbo that Franz sells now. The recipe I tried last week was to tweek the Gaye Levy recipe. Here’s what I did:

Baked for 1 hour in a well greased non-stick bread pan. Preheated oven to 475°F, used the sudden steam addition trick, decreased heat to 450°F after 10 min of baking, final center/internal temp 205°F.

Makes 2-2-ish pound loaves.

2 1/2 C 105°F water
1 1/2 C 7 grain mix (Stone Buhr or Red Mill, I used our local Health Food store’s bulk)
4 1/4 C bread flour
1/2 C whole wheat flour
1/4 C flax meal
4 TBS sugar
2 TBS molasses
2 TBS honey
2 tsp salt
2 TBS yeast (rapid rise)
3 TBS powdered buttermilk
3 TBS margarine (I used Golden Soft)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mrspao
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 15:45:55

    What a gorgeous looking loaf.

    Reply

  2. Donna
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 07:30:43

    Very pretty looking loaf. Thanks for the recipe. It looks great. I’ve been baking “no-knead” for a long time now, and want to get back to some different recipes. The no-knead is good, but sometimes I’d like a richer bread than one with just water. I think I”ll like this one.

    Reply

  3. bapsi
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 21:55:39

    that loaf of bread looks delicious. *__*
    my boyfriend and i actually made bread from scratch a few months ago–something he has done a lot, but that time was my first! the house smelled heavenly. thanks for the recipe! i should give it a try the next time he visits!

    Reply

  4. Kathleen
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 15:25:05

    Lovely looking bread. I can almost smell it! But where are you? Missing your posts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

